CD review RAGE ‘Wings of Rage’

One of the first metallic storms in the new year 2020 comes from Herne, Germany. Three years after having released ‘Seasons of the Black’ Teutonic Metal pioneers Rage return with a new album. ‘Wings of Rage’ is a next chapter Peavy Wagner and band mates add to their impressive metallic story and to state it right away, it’s a great one.

After having inked a deal with Steamhammer, the trio recorded 11 songs (and in intermezzo), which bridge 35 years of Rage in a great fashion. In a certain way you could say that the album has an oldschool vibe that goes back to the sound of the late ‘90s when the band experimented with orchestral elements. I had to think more than once of albums like ‘Ghosts’ and ‘XIII’ while listeneing to ‘Wings of Rage’. The new longplayer partly reflects the multilayered approach of these days, combined with the aggressiveness of the first two longplayers. Next to these references to the past, ‘Wings of Rage’ sounds fresh, modern and extremely powerful. Rage finds the sweet-spot of various the influences, all kept together by a typical Rage-sound and Peavy Wagners unique vocals and phrasing. Rage is Rage, no doubt.

Rain, thunder and a painful scream starts the album. ‘True’ is the title of the firing opener that sets the scene for nearly an hour of excellent Metal. Basically you can drop the needle anywhere on this album, it will be always great music that will get out of your speakers. I would like to highlight though the title track, which is a typical Rage anthem with good melodies, a pushing beat and merciless riffs.

The middle section with ‘A Nameless Grave’, ‘Don’t Let Me Down’ and ‘Shine a Light’ brings back the ‘Ghosts’-/’XIII’ spirit before ‘HTTS 2.0’ fires on all cylinders, being a raging track with high speed.

Wagner, Rodriguez and Maniatopoulos, that’s Rage since five years. The trio grew together over time and the new album unveils the beauty of this tight collaboration. It also feels like the label change was another boost for the veterans from Herne, leading to an album that for sure belongs to the highlights in a discography that has many rich moments and releases. Being this strong there isn’t a doubt about these ‘wings of Rage’ carrying the band through many more new musical adventures.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. True
  2. Let Them Rest in Peace
  3. Chasing the Twilight Zone
  4. Tomorrow
  5. Wings of Rage
  6. Shadow over Deadland (The Twilight Transition)
  7. A Nameless Grave
  8. Don`t Let Me Down
  9. Shine a Light
  10. HTTS 2.0
  11. Blame It on the Truth
  12. For Those Who Wish To Die

Label: Steamhammer

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: January 10th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: