CD review THE FLOWER KINGS ‘Waiting For Miracles’

(8/10) Roine Stolt is a musician with many projects up and running and so do some other band members too. Being active with many other engagements over the last years led to a pause when it comes to The Flower Kings and some line-up changes didn’t speed up things either. Therefore it’s good news that the band returns to the scene with a new album one year after ‘Manifesto of an Alchemist’ saw the light of day. The previous album was released as Roine Stolt’s The Flower Kings and ended a 5 years waiting time and the new longplayer is in the starting blocks much quicker.

‘Waiting for Miracles’, the new album, shows the band with a partly new line-up. Zach Kamins took over the keyboards and drummer Mirkko De Maio sign responsible for being the driving engine when it comes to rhythm and beat.

15 songs, spread over two CD’s is what The Flower Kings offer their fans and supporters of exquisite music in general. The Swedish Prog Rock icons deliver quality from start to end with songs being impacted by the sound of the ’70s. Pink Floyd, ELO and Yes are just some of the band that come to your mind while listening to songs like ‘Miracles For America. The ten minute long epos is regardless of its length exciting and entertaining. Warm keyboards passages, well-accentuated vocals and warmly swinging guitar parts are the essence of the tune, being a great representative for each of the songs on this 85 minute release.

Being multi-layered and still approachable is what The Flower Kings turned into a mission possible. ‘Waiting For Miracles’ is an album that helps to escape from daily routines, trouble and hectic. It’s an earphone experience that gains intensity while closing the eyes and listen to the beauty of music.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


CD 1

1. House Of Cards
2. Black Flag
3. Miracles For America
4. Vertigo
5. The Bridge
6. Ascending To The Stars
7. Wicked Old Symphony
8. The Rebel Circus
9. Sleep With The Enemy
10. The Crowning Of Greed

CD 2

1. House Of Cards Reprise
2. Spirals
3. Steampunk
4. We Were Always Here
5. Busking At Brobank

Label: Inside Out Music

Genre: Progressive Rock

Release Date EU: November 8th, 2019



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: