CD review VIOLATION WOUND ‘Dying to Live, Living to Die’

(8/10) Violation Wound, that’s Chris Reifert, Joe Orterry and Matt O’Connell. The trio released with ‘With Man in Charge’ a remarkable debut that’s now followed by the sophomore longplayer ‘Dying to Live, Living to Die’. Violation Wound, that’s the anarchy of Punk and the energy of Metal, combined with the dirty spirit of Rock’n’roll, documented in 18 new songs that form the tracklist of this album.

Lyrically focussing on the current global situation when it comes to climate and social misbalance, the album is a raging reminder of a situation that needs to be changed and improved. ‘Dying to Live, Living to Die’ is a furious record with songs not longer than 2 minutes of length. It also doesn’t need more time to get the message across.

Savage noise assaults like ‘Lack of Focus’ are present on this longplayer and stand next to brutal smashers like the great ‘Follower’, a song with a solid Motörhead-touch. Talking about Lemmy and Motörhead, there’s one song directly referring to the source of inspiration, the moderately paced instrumental ‘The Day Lemmy Died’.

‘Dying to Live, Living to Die’ is a wild ride and feels like a smash into the face. This album is neither trendy nor meant to be commercial. It’s the fierce outcome of a trio that cut right to the chase of the matter, topically as well as musically.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Off With His Head
  2. Guns! Guns! Guns!
  3.  No Consequence
  4. Follower
  5. Lack Of Focus
  6. Dead Flags
  7.  Exorcism Of Ignorance
  8. Neighborhood Psycho
  9.  The Day Lemmy Died
  10.  Stress Bomb
  11. Chainsaw Brain
  12. Dying To Live, Living To Die
  13. Last Pill In The Bottle
  14. Pay To Hate
  15. Insult Culture
  16. Pick Up The Crumbs
  17. Losers And Freaks
  18. Hostage

Label: Peaceville

Genre: Death’n’Punk

Release Date EU: November 1st, 2019


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: