CD review VELVET VIPER ‘The Pale Man Is Holding A Broken Heart’

(6/10) The moment Jutta Weinhod announces a new album, in the meantime with her band Velvet Viper, there’s some hope to get a continuation of what started with the sensational Zed Yago debut. To take it right away, also this time the ‘From Over Yonder’ stays untouched.

Weinhold has a pretty unique voice, a gift that makes her standing out from many other singers. The new album is of course very much built on this crucial asset and it’s done a bit too strongly. Weinhold’s singing is certainly the highlight of ‘The Pale Man Is Holding A Broken Heart’ but vocals are pretty much in the forefront, which pushes instruments to the back and misbalances the sound.

Furthermore it’s the songs itself that doesn’t leave you with a mouth wide open. What you get is standard Heavy Metal without any surprises. ‘Confuse and Satisfy’ and ‘All By Yourself’ reflect Heavy Metal of the shelf, the latter with a bridge that’s really hard to listen to.

Fortunately there are some better moments on ‘The Pale Man Is Holding A Broken Heart’ too. ‘Samson and Delilah’ is one of them and ‘The Wheel Has Come Full Circle’ belongs to the better moments too. All in all the better tracks are not enough to make this album to a treat. Unfortunately ‘From Over Yonder’ stays unique and since hope dies last, let’s wait for the next album.

Rating: 6 out of 10.


  1. Things Behind
  2. Götterdämmerung
  3. All By Yourself
  4. One Eyed Ruler
  5. Samson And Delilah
  6. Confuse and Satisfy
  7. Something Is Rotten
  8. Keep Your Head Up
  9. Hide Your Fire
  10. The Wheel Has Come Full Circle
  11. One Day

Label: Massacre Records

Genre: Melodic Power Metal

Release Date EU: October 25th, 2019



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: