CD review CRISIX ‘Sessions #1: American Thrash’

(7/10) Barcelona-based thrashers Crisix is a five-piece band, musicians with a passion Thrash Metal. To pay tribute to some of their ‘inspirators’ the guys recorded an album with cover songs, all Thrash Metal classics from overseas.

It’s the glorious ’80’s sound from Bay Area and US East-cost being interpreted by the guys from Catalonia. Testament, Exodus, Anthrax and some more are veterans in Thrash Metal ignited Crisix passion for heavy music and the quintet celebrates their idols with this tribute release.

‘Sessions #1: American Thrash’ definitely reflects the passion of the quintet for their most favorite genre, their idols and the way they do things is a good one. However, each of the songs doesn’t get close to the mind-blowing originals and that’s maybe also not the intension. ‘Sessions #1: American Thrash’ is done by kids that want to show their appreciation for bands that paved the way for an entirely new genre and in this context the album starts to become an entertaining one. It’s about the spirit more than perfection.

‘Sessions #1: American Thrash’ might not be an album with the big wow-effect, but it’s for sure a good one to get a Metal party started.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. World in a World (Vio-lence)
  2. Critical Mass (Nuclear Assault)
  3. The Hood (Evil Dead)
  4. Chalice of Blood (Forbidden)
  5. Toxic Waltz (Exodus)
  6. Imitaion of Life (Anthrax)
  7. C.O.T.L.O.D (Testament)
  8. Infectious Hospital Waste (Demolition Hammer)

Label: Listenable Records

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: October 25th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑