(7/10) Michael Sweet is known as being the frontman of legendary Stryper, a band that got attention due to tossing bibles during live shows, being dressed in their bumblebee like yellow/black striped stage clothing.

Next to the releases with Stryper Michael Sweet released solo albums too of which the newest one is entitled ‘Ten’. It’s, what a surprise, the tenth longplayer and it features twelve new Melodic Rock/Metal songs being the musical chapters of this record.

The Christian background is also present on ‘Ten’ with the title track addressing the Ten Commitment. The song itself is with a slower pace a rhythm-focus slightly different than most of the other songs.

Other songs are ‘Forget Forgive’ with a starting riff reminding of ‘Foxy Lady’. ‘Shine’, one of the best songs on the album, is an uptempo rocker that brings back an ’80s Melodic Metal spirit and in general I had to think of bands like Dokken more than once while listening to ‘Ten’.

Michael Sweet’s solo release is certainly not a bad one and it’s not a jaw-dropping experience either. It’s an album that’s entertaining while listening to it, but also doesn’t leave a lot of traces on the musical road map. Solid from start to end.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Better Part of Me
  2. Lay it Down
  3. Forget Forgive
  4. Now or Never
  5. Ten
  6. Shine
  7. Let it Be Love
  8. Never Alone
  9. When Love is Hated
  10. Ricochet
  11. With You Till the End
  12. Son of Man

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: October 11th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: