CD review THE DEAD DAISIES ‘Locked and Loaded’

(8/10) The ones of you that had the chance to witness a The Dead Daisies live show know, that these guys are going for 100% and more. One of the things that led to a fast growing fan base is the unlimited Rock’n’roll power that comes with the band as well as the authentic approach by the quintet. The Dead Daisies just do what they want without having a need to prove anything to anybody. This approach creates a boundless party vibe that comes back in the live shows as well as the guys cover the atmosphere pretty well on studio releases.

The newest addition to The Dead Daisies discography is an album that contains cover versions. ‘Locked and Loaded’ is the title of this release that showcases Rock fans playing Rock classics for Rock fans. Each of the previous The Dead Daisies longplayer included a cover version and the same goes for setlists of live events and it’s the new album that sums it up.

What keeps each of the ten songs together is the massive power the band expresses. Live versions of ‘Rockin’ in the Free World’ and Deep Purple’s ‘Highway Star’ are extremely well done, paying tribute to the original classic while also adding the typical The Dead Daisies sound to the mix. Both songs haven’t been released on an earlier The Dead Daisies album and are the big finale on ‘Locked and Loaded’.

The third live song is ‘American Band’ firing on all cylinders too. Other songs, like Alex Harvey’s great ‘Midnight Moses’ have been released already earlier and still spreads their magic. Each of these tracks has been remastered and just sounds great.

‘Locked and Loaded’ is a tribute to Rock’n’roll done by Rock/Metal veterans being dedicated to hard rocking music. This album is entertaining from the first note to the last tone. Thumbs up.



  1. Midnight Moses
  2. Evil
  3. Fortunate Son
  4. Join Together
  5. Helter Skelter
  6. Bitch
  7. American Band (Live)
  8. Revolution
  9. Rockin’ In the Free World (Live)
  10. Highway Star (Live)

Label: Spitfire Records

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: August 23rd, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑