CD review TORCHE ‘Admission’

(8/10) Florida-based Torche will unveil their new album ‘Admission’ early July this year. It will be the second record via Relapse Records and longplayer number five in general.

Since the band premiered in 2005 with ‘Torche’ it’s almost a mission impossible to add a specific genre to Torche’s sound. To many musical preferences of involved musicians meet on every longplayer of the quartet and it’s ‘Admission’ that doesn’t aim for a change of this pattern.

In general we could say that the Floridians play loud Rock music. Their songs are very guitar based and reminds of Stoner Rock that meets some Helmet-like riff power. Torche build walls of guitar sounds with riffs being the bricks and it’s the hypnotic ‘What Was’ that brings this main ingredient very well to forefront.

The guys stick mainly to a moderate pace and it’s tunes like ‘Reminder’ and ‘On the Wire’, where the bands puts a foot on the break. The title song deviates partly from the general pattern, being an almost swinging track compared to heavy riff monsters like ‘Infierno’.

The beauty of ‘Admission’ is the fusion of various influences with a strong riff power being the glue that keeps things together very well. If you’re a fan of Alternative Rock and if bands like Helmet belong to your faves, than you should check out these 38 minutes of music. There’s certainly a chance that you like what you get to hear.



  1. From Here
  2. Submission
  3. Slide
  4. What Was
  5. Times Missing
  6. Admission
  7. Reminder
  8. Extremes of Consciousness
  9. On the Wire
  10. Infierno
  11. Changes Come

Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Heavy Post Rock

Release Date EU: July 12th, 2019



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: