CD review DEATH ANGEL ‘Humanicide’

(8/10) San Francisco-based Metal pioneers Death Angel present their newest piece of work, which is 10 songs containing longplayer that shows the guys from California in excellent shape.

A NWoBHM-rooted guitar line starts the opener and it’s an ear-splitting scream of frontman Mark Osegueda that transfers the song into aggressive Thrash Metal. The song’s a power-pack with a might hammering rhythm-section and furious solos parts.

Another song you shouldn’t miss is ‘Aggressor’. Some acoustic guitars introduce this sonic sledgehammer that rather quickly turns into a grooving Thrash Metal blast with Osegueda vocals being the centrepiece. One thing becomes obvious already in the beginning of this album, Death Angel adds variety to their offer. ‘I Came For Blood’ is 100% Death Angel, while also carrying a solid punk vibe. The 6 minutes ‘Immortal Behated’ shows another aspect of the five-piece. The tune is kept in a moderate pace, with some acoustic interludes and aggressive Thrash Metal parts.

Furthermore there’s ‘Ghost of Me’, that reflects more of an oldschool approach with furious solos parts before ‘Revelation Song’ brings with an Accept-ish riff the bands passion for more traditional metal the the plate.

With ‘Of Rats and Men’ the Californian quintet finishes off fast and furious. The closer is a typical Death Angel smasher – spot-on and to the point. A walk-off hit if you will.

The five Metal veterans can deliver to expectation. With experience and an open mind set the quintet sticks to their roots while also adding some new twists to the mix. “Humanicide’ – and album that’s forceful and dynamic. Death Angel goes strong with this longplayer.



  1. Humanicide
  2. Divine Defector
  3. Aggressor
  4. I Came For Blood
  5. Immortal Behated
  6. Alive and Screaming
  7. The Pack
  8. Ghost of Me
  9. Revelation Song
  10. Of Rates and Men

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: May 31st, 2019



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: