Review FROZEN SOUL ‘Glacial Domination’

Fort Worth, Texas is the home of a rather new death metal outfit. Frozen Soul is the name of this five-piece and the guys premiered with a remarkable album called ‘Crypt of Ice’. This happened in 2021 and two years later the sophomore longplayer hit the shelves.

‘Glacial Domination’ is the title of the newest achievement of the Texans, and it is a heavy pounding metal record. The band recorded eleven songs, all with an ice-cold grin.

Frozen Soul, that’s not about Houdini-like sound constructs. It’s the blasting riff power that makes the album to a headbangers delight. It all starts with ‘Invisible Torment’. After a short intro the songs blasts out of the speakers with full speed. The oppressing ‘Arsenal of War’ is next and it’s apparent that the band doesn’t take prisoners. With a merciless groove the track is crafted in a great fashion and the following ‘Death and Glory’, with its howling leads, belongs to the massive death metal outbreaks on this album too.

Frozen Soul also added with ‘Annihilation’ a spacy interlude which is a well-placed moment of distraction, compared to ‘Morbid Effigy’ with its meat-cleaver riffs and the brutal vocals by John Gallagher of Dying Fetus.

The title track is rather catchy and anthemic, considering the fact of listening to a death metal album. There is the cinematic intro, tempo reduces and still ‘Frozen Soul’ rolls at you with the unstoppable force of an avalanche. I had to think of Amon Amarth and the fact of Trivium’s Matt Heavy also contributing to the song adds another element of excitement to the mix and by the way, the Trivium mastermind also produced ‘Glacial Domination’. ‘Best Served Cold’ is a neck-breaking death metal assault and with ‘Atomic Winter’ the band doesn’t offer a winter wonderland. Instead, the closer of the album is a heavy pounding tune and this must be what it feels like to be slowly trapped in eternal ice.

‘Glacial Domination’ is the second strike of the Texas-based metal powerhouse. This record comes with no bells and whistles. It is a straight-to-the-point metal release with smashing guitars, deep growls, and a murderous groove. Strong neck muscles are required while listening to this album.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Invisible Tormentor
  2. Arsenal Of War
  3. Death And Glory
  4. Morbid Effigy
  5. Annihilation
  6. Glacial Domination
  7. Frozen Soul
  8. Assimilator
  9. Best Served Cold
  10. Abominable
  11. Atomic Winter

Label: Century Media

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: May 19th, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: