Review ROSS THE BOSS ‘Legacy of Blood, Fire & Steel’

Ross The Boss is the brainchild of Ross Friedman, one of the founding members of Manowar. The guitarist had a big impact on the success of timeless metal records like ‘Hail to England’ and ‘Sign of the Hammer’ is widely known.

Now, 15 years after having started with Ross The Boss his new metal powerhouse, the iconic guitarist not only will embark on an anniversary tour. Furthermore, a retrospective on 15 years of pure heavy metal will be released as ‘Legacy of Blood, Fire & Steel’.

The release will feature twelve songs, covering the entire history of the band. Since the album comes exclusively on vinyl, fans of true metal will be delighted. Together with bassist Mike LePond, drummer Steve Bolognese and singer Marc Lopez the bandleader reveals the essence of his work with Ross The Boss. And no doubt, references to early Manowar are present throughout and the galloping ‘Kingdom Arise’ is now exception. Powerful riffs, a stellar groove and excellent executed vocals are a treat for any metalhead. And there is the furious ‘We are the Night’ that shines while the bombastic ‘Maiden of Shadows’ showcases the intensity and versatility of the band.

With ‘Born of Fire’ also newer tunes found a spot on this compilation, mirroring the more thrash-based sound of the latest studio album.

‘Legacy of Blood, Fire & Steel’ is a well-done compilation of Friedman’s latest musical achievement, showing a musician and a band that is still hungry for riff power and that has metal running through their veins.

Rating: 0 out of 10.

no score


  1. Blood of Knives                      
  2. I Got the Right           
  3. We Will Kill                
  4. Kingdom Arise           
  5. Hailstorm                   
  6. Great Gods Glorious              
  7. By Blood Sworn                     
  8. This Is Vengeance                  
  9. We Are the Night                   
  10. Maiden of Shadows              
  11. Born of Fire                
  12. Denied by the Cross

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: April 28th, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: