Review ROXANNE ‘Stereo Typical’

‘Stereo Typical’ is already the third album in Roxanne’s career, which is truly special. One or the other may not have heard of the band yet and at the same time the four-piece is not exactly a newcomer.

The debut album of Roxanne was already released in 1986 before it became more than calm about the band. More than five years ago ‘Radio Silence’ was released and 35 years after the band’s foundation the guys managed to send their third effort to the record stores.

‘Stereo Typical’ is the name of the new album and contains ten well done rock songs. It starts with the title track. The song is a fast rocker with a certain Thin Lizzy flair. It’s a great start into the album and what follows is in no way of lower quality.

Roxanne do not reinvent the wheel, but at the same time the band is very passionate about what they are doing. In addition, the fact that well-known colleagues have made guest appearances on the album shows the quality of the band. So it is Paul Gilbert who delivers his contribution to the smooth and emotional ‘Looks Like Rain’ before the rock roots break through again on ‘Gotta Live’.

dUg Pinnick supports the band on the equally peaceful ‘Only a Call Away’ and as you would expect ‘The Cost of Living’ is the next energetic track.

This mix seems to be more than just a coincidence. Roxanne permanently switch between soulful outputs and raspy rockers.
One song that stands out with its pounding beat is the compelling ‘Waiting for Laura’ and the thumping ‘Keep on Keepin’ On’, featuring Jeff Scott Soto, also reveals the core of Roxanne’s basic musical direction.

Consistency is not exactly what sets Roxanne apart and three albums in more than 30 years isn’t a lot. However, since 2018, the band seems to be more focused on their music, as evidenced by two longplayers in five years. If you dig very well done hard rock, which is also spiced with some southern rock and blues, you will enjoy ‘Stereo Typical’.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Stereotypical  
  2. Looks Like Rain (featuring Paul Gilbert)       
  3. Gotta Live      
  4. Only A Call Away (featuring dUg Pinnick)
  5. The Cost Of Living     
  6. Open Book     
  7. Waiting For Laura     
  8. Keep On Keepin’ On (featuring Jeff Scott Soto)        
  9. Until They Do 
  10. Without A Rope

Label: Rat Pak Records

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: February 24th, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: