Review ISSA ‘Lights of Japan’

Issa, that is Oslo-born singer Isabell Øversveen who started the outfit in 2010. Issa has six longplayers in the books and number seven is marking the start of a new year in rock.

‘Lights of Japan’ is the title of the newest work piece of the Norwegian singer and contains eleven songs.

‘Live Again’ is a really good start into the album, showing the great sense for good melodies. Supported by Michele Guaitoli, Marco Pastorino, James Martin and Marco Andreetto, Issa offers rock songs that all have the right energy level for this kind of music. There is for example the snappy ‘Seize the Day’, the soulful ‘Moon of Love’ with the saxophone part and the ballad called ‘I Give You My Heart’.

‘Stop the Rain’ in contrary is nice and at the same time an average rock song. To balance such a standardized moment, it is the anthemic ‘Chains’ bringing back the power of rock and the same goes for the gently swinging ‘It’s Over’.

Issa doesn’t reinvent rock and neither she changed a lot compared to the previous records. Instead, the singer offers well-crafted rock songs that with all the melodies embedded never drowns in the ocean of cliché. Fans of bands like Heart, Lee Aaron but also Scandinavian hard rock should check out ‘Lights of Japan’.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Live Again
  2. Lights Of Japan
  3. Seize The Day
  4. Stop The Rain
  5. Moon Of Love
  6. Chains Of Love
  7. Fight To Survive
  8. It’s Over
  9. I’ll Give You My Heart
  10. Shadow To The Light
  11. I’ll Be Waiting

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Hard Rock / AOR

Release Date EU: January 20th, 2023


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: