Review SOEN ‘Atlantis’

The experts of progressive sound, Soen, are releasing a special album these days, ‘Atlantis’. Soen was founded in 2004 by former Opeth drummer Martin Lopez and guitarist Kim Platbarzdis, yet it took the band until 2012 to release their debut album ‘Cognitve’.
With a decade having gone by from that moment until now, the band has decided to celebrate this anniversary. Soen does this with ‘Atlantis’, a retrospective of a special kind.

The album takes its name from the recording location, Atlantis Grammofon Studios in Stockholm, where greats like Quiny Jones, Lenny Kravitz and Green Day have already recorded. And now Soen has done the same.

‘Atlantis’ is more than just a ‘Best of…’ album and it is also more than just a re-recording of existing songs. This release is a concert film that shows the band in collaboration with an orchestra and background singers performing existing Soen classics in an orchestral setting.

More than once the collaboration between metal band and orchestra has become a failed experiment. ‘Atlantis’ is certainly not one of them. From the very first songs it becomes obvious that great things have been created here. Soen put so much feeling and dedication into the newly arranged tracks like ‘Antagonist’, ‘Lucidity’ and ‘Savia’ that those shine in a new glow.

In addition, ‘Trials’ is a rousing new number that shows all the talent of the band. Especially singer Joel Ekelöf reveals what he is capable of vocally and how much feeling he can put into his singing. This song is a goosebump moment on ‘Atlantis’.

It also gets exciting towards the end of the album. Not only that with ‘Lascivious’ and the brilliant ‘Lotus’ two classics are at the end of the tracklist. Soen also dare to do an unusual cover version. It is ‘Snuff’ by Slipknot.

Well, there are not many bands that dare to do such an experiment. Even though the song belongs to the quiet and gloomy songs of the guys from Iowa, Soen have a hard time with their version. This has less to do with the Swedish quintet than with the fact that many Slipknot songs blossom in the context of the album and portrays the whole untamed turmoil in all its nuances. ‘Snuff’, that is the gloomy calm pole between ‘Wherein Lies Continue’ and ‘All Hope is Gone’. Here the song unfolds its full effect and Soen can’t represent that with a cover version. Nevertheless, Soen’s ‘Snuff’ is well crafted.

‘Atlantis’ shows the whole diversity of Soen and many of the new versions don’t have to shy away from a comparison with the original. On the contrary. One has the impression that the band has gone one step further with good songs becoming even better. Thumbs up and here’s to another successful ten years of Soen.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Antagonist
  2. Lunacy
  3. Monarch
  4. Trials
  5. River
  6. Jinn
  7. Illusion
  8. Modesty
  9. Lucidity
  10. Savia
  11. Fortune
  12. Snuff
  13. Lascivious
  14. Lotus

Label: Silver Lining Music

Genre: Progressive Rock / Metal

Release Date EU: November 11th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: