Review ALAN PARSONS ‘From the New World’

In recent months and years, Alan Parsons has not been stingy with releases. The current wave of releases started in 2019 when Parsons presented ‘The Secret’, a new studio album. After that two live albums arrived, one with a recording from the Netherlands and another one recorded live in Tel Aviv. And now comes ‘From the New World’ to the record stores.

The new album includes eleven songs, all in the typical Alan Parsons sound style. Progressive-, classic- and art rock unite on ‘From the New World’ to an compelling sound collage.

This time Parsons also got prominent support in the studio. Joe Bonamassa contributed with two guitar solos and can be heard on ‘Give ’em My Love’ and ‘I Won’t Be Led Astray’. The vocals are shared by a total of nine singers and one of them is none other than Tommy Shaw (Styx) who gives ‘Uroboros’ a sparkle all its own. The slower song comes out of the speakers with a lot of depth and feeling. In addition, Shaw’s voice gives the tune a rocking expression without the song getting really loud.

Exciting is also ‘Halos’, a track that reminds me more of the Alan Parsons Projects times. Melody line and hooks make the song a highlight. Also worth mentioning is the cinematic middle section with an atmospheric depth that only Parsons can deliver with such intensity.

‘The Secret’ is more of ear candy and ‘You are the Light’ swings light-footedly through the soundscapes. And it is a cover version which provides a rather unusual conclusion to the album. ‘Be My Baby’, originally by The Ronettes is the final track of the album, a longplayer that contains everything Alan Parsons fans expect.

‘From the New World’ offers atmosphere, big arcs of sound and a lot of feeling. Without wandering too much on the beaten path, Parsons again succeeds in skillfully presenting his very own sound.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Fare Thee Well
  2. The Secret
  3. Uroboros ft. Tommy Shaw
  4. Don’t Fade Now
  5. Give ‘Em My Love ft. James Durbin, Joe Bonamassa
  6. Obstacles
  7. I Won’t Be Led Astray ft. David Pack, Joe Bonamassa, Mike Larson
  8. You Are The Light
  9. Halo
  10. Goin’ Home
  11. Be My Baby

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: July 15th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: