Review BLOODY HEELS ‘Rotten Romance’

The front cover of Bloody Heels’ newest release ‘Rotten Romance’ reminds a lot of bands like Lillian Axe and Dokken. Thus might not be a coincidence. Especially the early might belong to the favorite bands of the four Latvian hard rockers.

‘Rotten Romance’ is the third album of the quartet and the second one the guys release via Frontiers Music. In total eleven songs found a spot on the album and the first song, ‘Dream Killers’, indicates where the inspiration comes from. ‘80s melodic metal from the West Coast is what inspire Bloody Heels. ‘Dream Killers’ marks a heavy entry point to the album with some melodic passages being a well-utilized twist. The title track is next and is kept in a moderate pace before the soulful moments start with ‘The Velvet’.

What is reflected by the first three songs is that Bloody Heels stick very much to the sound of their idols without having the musical toolkit of their ‘80s heroes at hand. Songs like ‘Distant Memory’ and ‘Crow’s Lullaby’ don’t have enough substance to compete.

‘Rotten Romance’ tries to re-vitalize the ‘80’s melodic metal spirit and there are some songs that manage to accomplish the mission. In general, though the album can’t spark the flame of metal and will not go up to the big leagues.

Rating: 6 out of 10.


  1. Dream Killers
  2. Rotten Romance
  3. The Velvet
  4. Distant Memory
  5. Hour Of Sinners
  6. Mirror Mirror
  7. When The Rain And I Meet
  8. Crow’s Lullaby
  9. Burning Bridges
  10. Angels Crying
  11. Oblivion

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: June 10th, 2022



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: