Review DAMPF ‘The Arrival’

A couple of weeks ago the European Song Contest offered a stage for some illustrious acts. In a way ‘The Arrival’ from Dampf would have fit into this context and would have added some extra rock power to this in general boring event.

I can’t tell you if the moniker of the project refers to the German word Dampf, which means ‘steam’. Now, there is some musical steam that brings this project into motion. If it is enough to move things forward though is something that can be discussed.

Dampf isn’t the first band that combines the mighty riff with pop-like melodies. Both components are the main pillars for songs like ‘The Other’. The chorus is sticky sweet while the pounding rhythm is the driving force of this song. It’s a nice thing to listen to the tune once while a second listen reduces the excitement factor dramatically. It is mainly since the general pattern of this release is neither new nor doesn’t it provide the real thrill. ‘Borne on the Wind’, for example, is a dark song with a gothic vibe.

‘From the E-ternity’ needs to be mentioned too, mainly because of Amon Amarth frontman Johan Hegg adds some growling Viking parts to the song and one wishes that he would take over the lead vocals. The moment he joins in the verse, the song gains a lot of power before the chorus is sticky sweet enough to be every dentist’s delight. With ‘Goeie Mie’ Dampf also tries to establish an anthemic ‘battle hymn’ on the album, but also here we have heard better stuff in the past.

‘The Arrival’ is an average metal album with songs that gain from a powerful and dynamic sound. Still, there is too little creativity and too much distracting side information, like the story of how the idea of Dampf started with a dream Erikson had. This album is a nice to listen to once and at the same time faces the risk of disappearing in the black holes of the metal universe rather quickly.

Rating: 6 out of 10.


  1. Winterland
  2. The Other Side (feat. Tommy „Lord Thorwald” Johansson – Sabaton & Fredrik „Hanoi“ Melander – Bathory)
  3. Goeie Mie (feat. feat. Tommy „Lord Thorwald” Johansson – Sabaton)
  4. Who Am I?
  5. Borne On The Wind
  6. Twilight Eyes
  7. Spread Your Wings O´er Me (feat. „Johan Big J” Hegg – Amon Amarth & Shellback )
  8. Steinhaufen (feat. Pontus „P-Maker“ Norgren – Hammerfall & Thobias „Songoftheship” Bjerlo – Stormfrum)
  9. Jerusalem (feat. Pontus „P-Maker“ Norgren – Hammerfall)
  10. From The E-ternity (feat. „Johan Big J” Hegg – Amon Amarth & Tommy „Lord Thorwald” Johansson – Sabaton)
  11. Sea Me

Label: Gramophone Records Finnland

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: June 3rd, 2022


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: