Review ANN WILSON ‘Fierce Bliss’

Ann Wilson belongs to the group of singers with a really distinctive voice. She, together with her sister Nancy, is an anchor point of Heart’s music and songs like the stellar ‘Barracuda’ show the entire potential of these two queens of rock music.

This time Ann Wilson launches a solo release called ‘Fierce Bliss’. The album includes ten songs plus an extra track on CD and in the digital format. It goes without saying that the centerpiece of this album is the iconic voice of the singer. Next to Wilson, the album also features some excellent musicians, guys like guitarist Kenny Wayne Shepherd who added some great guitar parts to ‘Bridge of Sights’ and ‘Missionary Man’. The latter also includes The Rev Nathan Young Singers, a choir that gives the tune a great extra. ‘Bridge of Sights’ though is a cover version of the Robin Trower song with Wilson’s voice and Shephard’s guitar giving the classic a new life.

Mentioning cover version, the album is a mixture of own songs and covers. To the latter belongs ‘Love of My Life’, originally by Queen. To cover a Queen song is always a challenge. Freddie Mercury’s voice is unreachable and also Brian May’s guitar play is so unique that the risk of failure is high. Ann Wilson though gives the song the depth and feel needed. Not moving away too far from the original and still giving the tune an own touch, that is the thin line Wilson walks on with confidence. And what helps too, is that Wilson is accompanied by Vince Gill, both delivering the song as great duet.

Another song, worth to be mentioned is the rocking opener ‘Greed’. The tune isn’t only the opener of the album but has been revealed as a single release prior to the album launch. The song is a strong start into the album and reminds of Heart. There could be more of these grooving tunes on the album since a lot of tracks stay in the calmer and soulful spectrum. ‘A Moment in Heaven’ is, next to ‘Greed’, one of these thundering moments on ‘Fierce Bliss’ and is worth to be listened to.

Last but not least, if the artwork reminds you of Yes, your eagle-eyes have seen it right. Roger Dean, who also worked for Yes, has taken care about the front cover of ‘Fierce Bliss’.

Ann Wilson releases with her new solo album a well-done rock record, that shows various influences and aspects of rock music. It’s a professionally done longplayer with an excellent sound, a signature voice and good songs. ‘Fierce Bliss’ is an album that needs a bit time to grow and hopefully it gets enough attention in a faster and faster changing world.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Greed
  2. Black Wing
  3. Bridge Of Sighs
  4. Fighten For Life
  5. Love Of My Life (feat. Vince Gill)
  6. Missionary Man
  7. Gladiator
  8. Forget Her
  9. A Moment In Heaven
  10. Angel’s Blues*
  11. As The World Turn

*Available on CD and digital formats only 

Label: Silver Lining Music

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: April 29th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: