Review RONNIE ROMERO ‘Raised on Radio’

Ronnie Romero is certainly one of the most gifted singers in heavy metal these days. Lords Of Black was the springboard for the singer and it’s his voice, often compared with legendary Ronnie James Dio, that made him stand out from many other of his singing colleagues. Furthermore, Romero joined no less than Richie Blackmore for some Rainbow-shows in 2015 and there is the contribution to many other projects that established Romero as a very talented singer.

The month of April brings a couple of cover albums to the plate, and one is done by Romero.  ‘Raised on Radio’ is the title of this release that features eleven songs. On the one hand there is the exciting voice of the singer and there are songs like Queen’s ‘I Was Born to Love You’, ‘Girl on the Moon’ from Foreigner and other classics of rock band from the 70’s and 80’s. Not to forget the great version of ‘All Along the Watchtower’ which is turned into a thundering hard rock song.

At the same time there is the omnipresence of Romero and there is the feeling of listening to him and his voice again and again. No doubt, there is a lot of talent, but there might be a point when omnipresence turns things into the opposite direction. Secondly one can question the meaningfulness of these cover albums. Yes, the song selection is good, and the sound is excellent. But is it really needed? The ones that can answer this question with a clear ‘Yes’ will have a lot of fun with ‘Raised on Radio’. In times of limited financial resources and a thinner wallet, ‘Raised on Radio’ might not be the first choice on the shopping list since it offers too little new.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Sin’s A Good Man’s Brother (Grand Funk Railroad)
  2. Backstreet Love Affair (Survivor)
  3. No Smoke Without a Fire (Bad Company)
  4. I Was Born To Love You (Queen)
  5. Play The Game Tonight (Kansas)
  6. Carolina County Ball (Elf)
  7. Girl On The Moon (Foreigner)
  8. Gypse (Uriah Heep)
  9. Voices (Russ Ballard)
  10. All Along The Watchtower (Bob Dylan)
  11. Since I’ve Been Loving You (Led Zeppelin)

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: April 15th, 2022



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: