Review BLACK SWAN ‘Generation Mind’

Allstar line-up Robin McAuley (McAuley Schenker Group), guitarist Reb Beach (Winger, Whitesnake), bassist Jeff Pilson (Foreigner, The End Machine, ex-Dokken), and drummer Matt Starr (Ace Frehley, Mr. Big), they are also known as Black Swan.

The quartet premiered with ‚Shake the World‘ in 2020 and have finished the work process for their second longplayer.

‚Generation Mind‘ is the anticipated strong next release from a band that knows how to carve a strong hard rock statement into stone. Mc Auley, Beach and Pilson, these guys are the architects of these 55 minutes of exquisite rock music, performed by guys that are all a master of their craft

After the intro ‘Before the Light’ fades away it is up to ‘She Hides Behind’ to unveil the rock’n’roll beast. The upbeat rocker is an energetic start into the album with a roaring beat and raw power. What becomes apparent right away is that this album is created on pure joy. While some other records spread the vibe of an obligatory recording it is ‘Generation Mind’ being the opposite. Every song inhales the power of rock music, represented by songs like the lively title track.

The soulful moment is entitled ‘How Do You Feel’ and listening to the album makes it easy to answer the question. It feels pretty good. This has to do with tunes like the booming ‘Eagles Fly’, a song that shows the talent of everybody involved.

A pounding drumline is what drives ‘Killer on the Loose’, another highlight on the album. ‘Long Way Down’ and ‘Crown’ are two additional examples for the quartet having internalized the spirit of rock’n’roll, music that acts as a delight for fans of well-crafted hard rock and melodic metal. Black Swan always keep sight on the expected heaviness and roughness of their sound. None of the tracks is average although the music isn’t revolutionary new. It is the spirit and mindset for this kind of music that drives Black Swan and allow the band to unleash a stellar new longplayer.

‘Generation Mind’ shows talented and renowned musicians at work. These songs spread an ease and joy that is infectious. Listening to the ten tunes on this album means having a good time and for a moment, all the daily sorrows and concerns are pushed to the back. Enjoy the moment.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Before The Light
  2. She Hides Behind
  3. Generation Mind
  4. Eagles Fly
  5. See You Cry
  6. Killer On The Loose
  7. Miracle
  8. How Do You Feel
  9. Long Way Down
  10. Crown
  11. Wicked The Day
  12. I Will Follow

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: April 8th, 2022


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: