Review COBRA SPELL ‘Anthems of the Night’ – EP

Dutch/French/Italian metallers Cobra Spell is the brainchild of guitarist Sonia Anubis (Crypta, ex-Burning Witches) and Sebastian Silva, both founding the band as an outlet for the passion for 80s metal. Since Silva left the band, Cobra Spell is very much driven by Anubis who, together with band mates Angelina Vehera, Alexx Panza (Hitten), Léonard Cakolli and Esmée van Sinderen, recorded with ‘Anthems of the Night’ a next EP.

‘Love Venom’ was the title of the first mini album that has been released in 2020. ‘Anthems of the Night’ is the next offer from the Holland-based quintet, a disc that entails four new metal songs. The new effort picks it up where the band left off with their debut EP. Powerful metal with a lot of references to the sound of the 80s is what ‘Anthems of the Night’ has in the offer.

Already the artwork of this EP sets the tone of voice with its metallic glam factor. Everything goes hand in hand since artwork and music are a perfect match.  There is the thundering ‘Addicted to the Night’ in pole position on the tracklisting. Equipped with a good melody and blasting riffs, listening to the song is like traveling back in time.

The pounding ‘The Midnight Hour’ is a next and it’s the spirit of rock’n’roll that fuels this song with power before ‘Stealing My Heart Away’ starts the bottom half of this EP. The chorus with its sing-along factor is the key element before the sound of a roaring engine starts ‘Accelerate’. Blistering leads and a hard-working rhythm section provide a good drive for this NWoBHM inspired metal smasher that reminds a lot of Judas Priest.

‘Anthems of the Night’ is the second EP, unleashed by Cobra Spell and the release shows a development of sound and songs. These four tunes are based on a pure passion for 80s metal and inhale the spirit of the heydays from back in time.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Addicted to the Night
  2. The Midnight Hour
  3. Steal My Heart Away
  4. Accelerate

Label: Self-released

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: March 31st, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: