Fans of bluesy rock music with a strong ‘70s appeal might have heard of Children Of The Sün already. The band, hailing from Sweden, has just released their second album. It was ‘Flowers’ that saw the light of day in 2019, right before the pandemic. Maybe the level of awareness would be higher if the band would have had a chance to present the album to a much wider audience at the time. However, now is the next chance since ‘Roots’ brings the sound from the sextet to a next level.

The Sign Records is known for an exquisite portfolio of bands that have their roots in classic rock and blues rock. In this way, Children Of The Sün fit perfectly in this context. The sound of the ’60s and ‘70s is what echoes in each of the tunes on the sophomore album, a thirteen songs featuring longplyaer that belongs to the stellar releases in 2022.

Not the heavy riffs are what fascinates. It is more of the soulful interpretation of rock music that transports a lot of feel. Listening to the first triple of songs is a goosebump moment, with ‘Leaves’ and ‘Blood Boils Hot’ being the perfect role models for Children Of The Sün’s sound. These hymns have an addictive element.

The tracklist of ‘Roots’ doesn’t know a weak spot. Each of the songs is an emotional experience with the title track being a centerpiece. A crucial element of Children Of The Sün are the vocals. Josefina Berglund Ekholm has such a wide vocals range and the ability to hit every tone, so that a-capella parts like in ‘The Soul’ are touching moments. That the band can also unleash the rock’n’roll beast is what they show with ‘Thunder’ and they could do it a bit more often.

‘Roots’ is an intense album since it is fueled by feelings and emotions. Gently swinging songs with a lot of excitement is what characterizes Children Of The Sün and their sound. These guys prove that you don’t need to be loud to be heard. ‘Roots’ inhales the sound of the 70s and brings it to the here and now. Really good stuff from the North.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Reflection
  2. Leaves
  3. Blood Boils Hot
  4. Gaslighting
  5. Eden
  6. Willow Tree
  7. Roots
  8. Man In The Moon
  9. The Soul
  10. In Silva
  11. Thunder
  12. Reaching For Sun
  13. Epilogue

Label: The Sign Records

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: March 18th, 2022



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: