Review DESERTED FEAR ‘Doomsday’

German death metal power engine Deserted Fear premiered with ‘My Empire’, an album that brought the band some attention. Things started to move more rapidly after having signed a record deal with Century Media, the label that also releases the fifth full-length longplayer of the Eisenberg, Germany based band.

Three years after ‘Drowned by Humanity’ has been unleashed it is ‘Doomsday’ that picks it up where the guys left off with the previous album. ‘Doomsday’ features an eleven songs track listing. The album again showcases the trio’s passion for death metal and each of the songs unfold an immense level of energy. At the same time Deserted Fear has the ability to add soundscapes to their songs that, together with a well-integrated melodic aspect, provide some extra excitement and allows the band to vary within the self-given framework.

Songs like ‘Idols of Triumph’ are built on harsh riffs and melodic guitar lines. The setup partly reminds me of Gothenburg death metal with its embedded melodic aspect. Thanks to the raw vocals of frontman Manuel Glatter things never get too soft. There are still enough edges weaved into the songs which reflect an excellent combination of both style elements.

Variations are the biggest evolvement when it comes to the sound of the German trio. ‘Doomsday’ is an advanced and mature longplayer. Also to mention is the massive ‘Fall From Grace’ and the merciless ‘The One Desire’. Now, the main desire one might have, is to use the repeat-function on your device.

There are two shorter pieces on ‘Doomsday’ too. A calm and sinister intro starts the album and leads to ‘Part of the End’. ‘At Its End’ is a short interlude half-way, reminding me of Paradise Lost before Deserted Fear goes full force again with ‘Reborn Paradise’.

‘Doomsday’ is an excellent album and marks a next step for the band. Songs, sound, and savageness, these are three main pillars for the album, a strong foundation for an unshakably solid metal monument. Good stuff for headbangers.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Intro
  2. Part Of the End
  3. Idols Of Triumph
  4. Follow the Light That Blinds
  5. Fall From Grace
  6. At Its End
  7. Reborn Paradise
  8. The One Desire
  9. Call of Emptiness
  10. Voices of Fire
  11. Doomsday

Label: Century Media

Genre: Melodic Death Metal

Release Date EU: March 4th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: