Review TEN ‘Here Be Monsters’

‘Here Be Monsters’ is the title of the new album from UK melodic rock powerhouse Ten. At the same time, it is the first of two longplayers Gary Hughes, John Halliwell and bandmates worked on during the days of pandemic. There is now real link between the two records. It was more the great flow of ideas for songs that materialized on two records.

Ten premiered in 1996 with ‘X’ and it was a successful journey for the band since then. The new longplayer is the 15th addition to Ten’s track record and fans of the band will love what they get offered by the band. Ten new songs are a treat for ears and mind.

Gary Hughes has a great sense for catchy melodies and the opener is a first confirmation of what was said. With a little bit of a bluesy twist the song marks a great start into the album that finds with the eight-minute piece ‘Chapter and Psalm’ a continuation. The embedded hooks are irresistible which makes listening to the song to a good-time-experience.

‘Hurricane’ was released as a single already in January this year and got the third spot on the tracklist. The piano-based start, with Hughes vocals in focus, seamlessly transfers into a rocking anthem that live by a calm and rocking interactivity.

A dramatic start is what kicks-off ‘The Dream That Fell to Earth’ while ‘Anything You Want’ has a pop-appeal. Ten ends the album with a song called ‘The Longest Time’, a typical Ten anthem with all trademarks included.

‘Here Be Monsters’ is another well-crafted album from Ten although it isn’t their best one to date. There is a gentle swing that creates a common theme for the album but in a way the band also stays very much in the same pattern. Sound, songs, and production are well-done and still, there is this extra spark missing that provides the real fascination. ‘Here Be Monsters’, that stands for good craftsmanship combined with a lot of experience but it’s also an album that cruises a bit too much within the comfort zone.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Fearless
  2. Chapter And Psalm
  3. Hurricane
  4. Strangers On A Distant Shore
  5. The Dream That Fell To Earth
  6. The Miracle Of Life
  7. Immaculate Friends
  8. Anything You Want
  9. Follow Me Into The Fire
  10. The Longest Time

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Hard Rock

Release Date EU: February 18th, 2022



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: