Review GOODBYE JUNE ‘See Where the Night Goes’

It was in October 2019 when the Nashville-based powerhouse Goodbye June unleashed an EP that impressed right away. Goodbye June, that is family business with three cousins combining their passion for hard rocking music. Even the name of the band, a rather unusual one I would say, is connected to the family as it refers to the day of death of Tyler Baker’s brother.

‘Community Inn’ planted the seat for the full-length longplayer ‘See Where the Night Goes’. The album features an eleven songs tracklist and stands for hard rock that has roots in the 60s and 70s. There are other youngsters that have their musical imprint in early days of rock music. What makes Goodbye June special is the immense sense for a good song and a great melody. The best example herefor is uncompromising ‘Take a Ride’ and the title ‘Three Chords’ says it all. It doesn’t need that much to write a good hard rock song but what is for sure needed is the spirit and feel for this kind of music.

AC/DC is no stranger to Goodbye June. Otherwise, one can’t explain the proximity of the title track to some classics from the rock pioneers from down under. Next to these powerful representatives of rock, Goodbye June has put with ‘What I Need’ also a touching power ballad on the album that avoids drowning in cliche. This songs comes right from the heart.

Quite some of these song titles express pretty well what this album offers. Let’s take ‘Stand and Deliver’. It is a slowly starting song that explodes in the chorus and what we can conclude after having listened to album several times – Goodbye June stand and deliver. Staying in the three-minute area none of the tunes gets lost in endless layers. Each of these tracks is spot-on and unloads the essential spirit of rock.

If you want to listen to music that helps to blow away grey clouds from your pandemic-attacked soul, then it is this longplayer that certainly helps a lot. This album is pure energy and reflects the passion of band and band members for well-crafted rock music.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Step Aside
  2. See Where The Night Goes
  3. Breathe And Attack
  4. Take A Ride
  5. What I Need
  6. Stand And Deliver
  7. Baby, I’m Back
  8. Everlasting Love
  9. Nothing
  10. Three Chords
  11. Black

Label: Earache

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: February 18th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: