Even times of a global pandemic doesn’t mean that guys like Slash and Myles Kennedy slow down their pace. There are too many ideas and creative output that wants to be shared with the world. This time it is the Slash Ft. Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators format that worked on new material. Slash Ft. Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators, that is next to Kennedy and Slash also bassist Todd Kern and drummer Brent Fitz, providing the heartbeat of this album that also includes Frank Sidoris as rhythm guitarist.

‘4’ is the title of the new record that features ten songs, tunes fueled by the spirit of rock’n’roll.  The album sticks to the roots of the outfit and doesn’t surprise with unexpected twists and turns. ‘4’ can be seen more as a fine-tuning of the typical Slash Ft. Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators sound which is well-presented by the funky rocking ‘April Fool’. Slash’s singing guitar, the great solo work and the taking vocals of Myles Kennedy is an unbeatable combination.

Following the decision of creating this record through live recording wasn’t an easy endeavor in times of a pandemic. Going with the tourbus down to Nashville, going through a lot of testing and a slightly adjusted studio provided a chance to get all guys together. Still COVID hit the quintet with Myles Kennedy having been the first one receiving a positive COVID test result and he wasn’t the only one during the recording session. But instead of stopping the recording new ways have been found with moving the session the AirBnB in Nashville, which was the home during the recording weeks.

Maybe due to these circumstances ‘4’ became a very lively album which leaves due to the vivid upbeat songs a positive impression. The opener ‘The River is Rising’ is the first statement of the album and leaves no doubt about ‘4’ being a next great launch of the quintet. It is the heaviest song that takes the pole position, the right way to start off for such an album. If one listen closely one can also hear the effect of COVID on Kennedy’s voice since he was already sick at the time. But nothing could stop Slash Ft. Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators and it’s like with the three musketeers: “One for all and all for one”.

What follows the opener is equally thrilling. The rocking ‘Whatever Gets You By’ as well as the six-minutes epos ‘Fall Back to Earth’ are highlights in an album that is created by experts in their area.

Slash Ft. Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators also experiment with their sound, although it is in safe framework. ‘Spirit Love’ with its exotic flavor is a song that falls under this category. Just the fact that Slash starts the song with playing the electric sitar is a new experience and not worries, the iconic guitarist steps over to his guitar rather quickly. Still the song has a different feel and enriches the album.

‘4’ is a next exciting step for Slash Ft. Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators and their fans. It seems like nothing can stop these guys, not even a pandemic. In the end, this situation brought all involved closer together, which can only be experienced as being very beneficial.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. The River is Rising
  2. Whatever Gets You By
  3. C’est La Vie
  4. The Path Less Followed
  5. Actions Speak Louder Than Words
  6. Spirit Love
  7. Fill My World
  8. April Fool
  9. Call Off the Dogs
  10. Fall Back to Earth

Label: Gibson Records

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: February 11th, 2022

AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: