Review COMEBACK KID ‘Heavy Steps’

We’ve known since 2002 that Winnipeg not only has a good hockey team in the form of the Jets, but also has a lot to offer in the world of hardcore. In that year, Scott Wade and Andrew Neufeld launched Comeback Kid. After the debut album hit the shelves a year later, the way was paved for a successfully operating hardcore/punk band.

It was in 2017 when the band signed with Nuclear Blast and released ‘Outsider’, their first album in collaboration with the label. With ‘Heavy Steps’, a new album has been completed and is awaiting release.

With a total of eleven pounding songs and 32 minutes of playing time, Comeback Kid makes it clear that they have no interest in losing themselves in endless repetition or filigree layers. Completely in the spirit of hardcore and punk, the songs are short and crisp. Also a certain portion of metal (‘In Between’) flows into the new songs which makes the album an explosive musical blend.

The album is introduced by a massive bassline which starts the title track. The song has everything the band stands for. On the one hand it is a certain aggressiveness which characterizes each of the eleven songs. The fact that melodies are also an integral part of Comeback Kid is emphasized in the title track. Face the Fire’ shows the melodic aspect of the band as well, at least in parts, while the shouted vocals of frontman Andrew Neufeld provide the necessary punch.

I already mentioned the metal influences and this is also evident in ‘Crossed’. Not so much that heavy metal elements occur. Rather it is Gojira’s Joe Duplantier who exchanges his usual musical habitat for a song against the brute experience with Comeback Kid.

With ‘Heavy Steps’ Comeback Kid will catch the attention of their fans. If you liked the band so far, you will find what you are looking for on ‘Heavy Steps’. All in all, Comeback Kid’s latest work is a powerful and straightforward album that doesn’t stick to limitations but openly and honestly manifests the band’s musical direction.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Heavy Steps
  2. No Easy Way Out
  3. Face The Fire
  4. Crossed (feat. Joe Duplantier)
  5. Everything Relates (feat. JJ)
  6. Dead On The Fence  
  7. Shadow Of Doubt
  8. True To Form
  9. In Between
  10. Standstill
  11. Menacing Weight

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Hardcore

Release Date EU: January 21st, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: