Review THE NIGHT ETERNAL ‘Moonlit Cross’

It’s been a few days now since The Night Eternal released their long-awaited debut album. To be more precise, it was mid-November this year when ‘Moonlit Cross’ found its way into the record stores. But who is The Night Eternal?

The exact founding date of the band is not really transmitted Crystal clear, however, is the date of the first release of the band from Essen, Germany. With a self-titled EP, the guys drew attention in 2019. Now they follow it up with their full-length debut, an album with eight songs and a calm but sinister intro called ‘Manbelyst’.

The true opener ‘Elysion’ starts with a gritty riff and it rapidly becomes evident that we are dealing with classic heavy metal which combines riff power, and melodic leadership very well. This runs through the entire album and also manifests itself in the six-minute song ‘Son of Sin’. With a galloping rhythm, the song is reminiscent of the earlier Iron Maiden, which also points to the band’s influences. Still, the song in its entirety doesn’t have that much to do with the metal legends. Rather, The Night Eternal manage to create their own sound with cleverness.

A song that also stands out is the pounding ‘Shadow’s Servant’. In a moderate tempo, the track comes out of the speakers quite well. A rather dark vibe accompanies the tune without drifting into dull melancholy. In contrast, ‘Prison of Flesh’ with its increase in tempo and vitality is almost a song with a happy sound. Well, ‘happy’ is certainly not the right term. Nevertheless ‘Prison of Flesh’ is a lively and rocking song, which is beneficial to the flow of the album. Not to forget in this context the intense vocals of frontman Ricardo, a singer with a voice I had to get used to.

With ‘Moonlit Cross’ The Night Eternal have made a big step in the right direction. Compared to the EP, an improvement is not to be denied and it can be stated with certainty that the German metal underground can present a further good metal band.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Manbelyst      
  2. Elysion (Take Me Over)         
  3. Cloaked in Darkness  
  4. Son of Sin       
  5. Deadly as a Scythe    
  6. Shadow’s Servants    
  7. Prison of Flesh           
  8. Closeness in Suspension       
  9. Moonlit Cross

Label: Van Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: November 19th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: