Review HPOCRISY ‘Worship’

Peter Tägtgren’s is a guy who certainly has limited time. Being involved in many bands and project, being a composer as well as well-known and respected producer doesn’t lead to many blank spots in Tägtgren’s agenda. This one reason why the waiting time for a new album of Tägtgren’s flagship Hypocrisy took a while.

‘End of Disclosure’ was unveiled in 2013 and it was the first single ‘Children of the Gray’ that ended a long time without new material from the Swedish death metal veterans. The song itself is a good ambassador for the album, showing the variety of sounds that are all rooted in Swedish death metal from the ‘90s. The slow and calmer beginning of the songs, the powerful riff and the moderate pace put groove into forefront. In a way the song combines a lot of elements, the album stands for musically.

The pole position belongs to the title track ‘Worship’. An acoustic intro creates an atmosphere of distraction, awaiting the massive break. It’s not the immediate break that creates the blast. The song is a three-level rocket that ignites its final power tank halfway. What benefits the new album is the fact that Mikael Hedlund and Reidar “Horgh” Horghagen are again on board which means that the vibe from the earlier releases was found rather quickly and benefits the eleven tracks on the album.

What makes ‘Worship’ to a good death metal record are the variations while still sticking to the trademarks of the band- Tägtgren and bandmates keep songs like ‘Chemical Whore’ in a slower pace and still the song unfolds the heaviness that is expected from bands like Hypocrisy. Also not being shy of a melody the trio creates an irresistible atmosphere with songs like the slowly crawling ‘Bug in the Net’.

The gates to hell are opened by tunes like the thundering ‘They Will Arrive’. Also to mention is the dark and gloomy ‘Greedy Bastards’. Greed and control, that is the main theme the song is built upon lyrically and Hypocrisy translates the message perfectly into slow riffs with immense impact. Simplicity and a certain catchiness are what makes the song to a highlight on the album, a track that blossoms in black right away.

‘Worship’ was worth the wait. The album became a matter of heart and not just an in-between release. Hypocrisy stay true to themselves and their roots while on the other hand also being capable of develop their sound and trademarks. Good stuff for your ears.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Worship
  2. Chemical Whore
  3. Greedy Bastards
  4. Dead World
  5. We’re The Walking Dead
  6. Brotherhood Of The Serpent
  7. Children Of The Gray
  8. Another Day
  9. They Will Arrive
  10. Bug In The Net
  11. Gods Of The Underground

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: November 26th, 2021




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: