Review ECLIPSE ‘Wired’

One of Sweden’s most successful melodic rock/metal acts is Eclipse. The Stockholm-based quartet premiered in 2001 with ‘the Truth and a Little More’, and they came to stay. Two decades after the first longplayer hit the shelves, the band releases with ‘Wired’ their tenth album and it will be as successful as the predecessors.

Eclipse, that is still driven by singer Erik Mårtensson and guitarist Magnus Henriksson, both being part of the band from the very beginning. The newest bandmember was welcomed in 2019 when bassist Victor Crusner joined the hard rock powerhouse to provide a solid heartbeat for the songs on the new album.

As some of their colleagues in the Swedish rock scene, also Eclipse have a great sense for excellent melodies. There is no chance to resist the fascination of these hooks and catchy temptations. The first note of songs like ‘Dying Breed’ and the pounding ’We Didn’t Come to Lose’ act like a spark for a melodic rock firework that shines in bright colors.

Also to mention is ‘Carved in Stone’, a song that is can be seen as the ballad on the album. The acoustic and soulful beginning shows the emotional side of Eclipse and although ballads often face the risk of being approached with a cookie-cutter approach it is  ‘Carved in Stone’ that transports true emotions. ‘Poison Inside My Heart’ starts in a similar fashion before the song evolves to a powerful melodic smasher with a snappy beat.

‘Dead Inside’ is the eleventh and final tune on ‘Wired’ and in contrary to the title the songs is a dynamic and vivid closer that create the temptation to press the ‘Start’-button again and kick-off a second round of spinning ‘Wired’, probably not the last one either.

‘Wired’ is the anticipated new album from Swedish melodic rock passionists Eclipse. Without changing their trademark sound and musical direction, the quartet once again shows that there is still a lot possible in the fields of melodic rock.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Roses On Your Grave
  2. Dying Breed
  3. Saturday Night (Hallelujah)
  4. Run For Cover
  5. Carved In Stone
  6. Twilight
  7. Poison Inside My Heart
  8. Bite The Bullet
  9. We Didn’t Come To Lose
  10. Things We Love
  11. Dead Inside (CD and Digital Exclusive Bonus Track)

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: October 8th, 2021




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: