Review JEFF SCOTT SOTO ‘The Duets Collection – Volume 1’

As many others in the music industry, also Jeff Scott Soto had all of a sudden some extra time due to cancelled touring activities and a world that slowed down dramatically. To not sit still and waste time, the extraordinary singer initiated the recording of a new album called ‘The Duet Collection – Vol.1’.

The title of this longplayer indicates that this record features more voice than solely the one from Soto. The singer went through the songs that have been and are important for Soto and instead of simply re-recording these tunes, the vocalist had another idea to spark such a release.

Soto reached out to friends, colleagues and singers with the question of contributing to this release. Amongst others, guys like Eric Martin (Mr. Big), Johnny Gioeli (Hardline), Deen Castronovo (Revolution Saints), Russell Allen (Symphony X) and Mats Leven (Candlemass, TSO) were excited about the idea of duets with Soto, which led to eleven melodic rock and metal interpretations that represent the career of Jeff Scott Soto very well. With ‚Don’t Let it Go’ from the time with Yngwie Malmsteen to ‚Believe in Me‘ from JSS, the album features well forged music. I song, I personally like, is ‚Warrior‘ which Soto did together with German guitar virtuoso Axel Rudi Pell back in 1994. 27 years later Soto shares vocals with the current singer of ARP Johnny Gioeli which makes a good song even better.

‘The Duet Collection – Vol.1’ was created based on circumstances and might not have seen the light of days without a pandemic. In a way the album is a best of Jeff Scott Soto and at the same time it brings some fresh spotlight to songs that are a bit shaded by the evolution of time.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Livin’ The Life (ROCK STAR) with Erik Martensson (Eclipse/W.E.T.)
  2. Don’t Let It End (YNGWIE MALMSTEEN) – with Dino Jelusick (Animal Drive)
  3. Mysterious (TALISMAN) – with Eric Martin (Mr. Big)
  4. Believe in Me (JSS) – with Nathan James (Inglorious)
  5. Coming Home (SOUL SIRKUS) – with Deen Castronovo (Revolution Saints, Journey)
  6. I’ll Be Waiting (TALISMAN) – with Alirio Netto (Shaman, Queen Extravaganza)
  7. Callin’ All Girls (EYES) – with Russell Allen (Symphony X, Allen/Lande)
  8. Colour My XTC (TALISMAN) – with Renan Zonta (Electric Mob)
  9. Warrior (AXEL RUDI PELL) – with Johnny Gioeli (Hardline, Axel Rudi Pell)
  10. Holding On (JSS) – with BJ (SOTO, Spektra)
  11. Again 2 B Found (HUMANIMAL) – with Mats Leven (Candlemass)

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: October 8th, 2021




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: