Review BILLY IDOL ‘The Roadside EP’ – EP

Punk rock veteran Billy Idol used the last months to work on new songs for an EP called ‘The Roadside EP’. The iconic singer that started as a frontman of Generation X more than four decades ago recorded four songs, forming the tracklist of the first new release in seven years.

The first song from this EP, that has seen the light of day, is ‘Bitter Sweet’. The tune is a very personal one with lyrics addressing the motorcycle accident the singer had a few years ago. It was a milestone moment in Idol’s life that is reflected in this tune. It’s a great piece of music too with a lot of feel and soul weaved into each note. For me, this song is the highlight on this 12”.

The start of ‘The Roadside EP’ is a vital one. With ‘Rita Hayworth’ the release has a powerful rock anthem in pole position. Groove, melodies and great chorus is what characterizes the opener, a good mood anthem a la Billy Idol.

A trip back to the late 80s is what ‘U Don’t Have to Kiss Me Like That’ invites to The songs takes a few spins before unfolding its beauty. The weakest and must twisted track finishes off the EP. ‘Baby Put Your Clothes Back On’ is an average rock song and not more. Compared with the other three tracks, the ending of these release is a nice one, can’t compete with the other songs and is miles away from the genius ‘Bitter Taste’.

To sum up. ‘The Roadside EP’ is first new Billy Idol release in nearly seven years and four songs isn’t a lot of new stuff. However, there is a stellar tune one on this release, called ‘Bitter Sweet’. Two songs are entertaining and come with a solid punch while ¼ of this release is soulless and faceless. Fortunately, there are especially the first two tracks that make the weak spot nearly forgotten.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Rita Hayworth
  2. Bitter Taste
  3. U Don’t Have To Kiss Me Like That
  4. Baby Put Your Clothes Back On

Label: Dark Horse Records

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: September 19th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: