Review DEVIN TOWNSEND ‘Devolution Series #2 – Galactic Quarantine’

Devin Townsend’s creativity seems to be an unstoppable force with even a pandemic not being able to stop the Canadian guitar wizard from finding an outlet for music. Probably unhappy, but not moaning about the pandemic situation that keeps the world in suspense, Townsend started already in 2020, a series of quarantine shows. Some of these streaming shows will see the light of day these days also as album releases.

‘Devolution Series #1 – Acoustically Inclined, Live in Leads’ has been released in March this year and now it is the second chapter that lines up to hit the shelves. ‘Devolution Series #2 – Galactic Quarantine’ is the title of the newest release that will be available on June 25th. The songs on this album have been recorded in various places in 2020 as a replacement for the COVID affected ‘Empath Vol. 2 European Tour’. Quality is what you can expect from any Devin Townsend release and quantity isn’t something that comes up short either. 69 minutes of major league progressive metal, that is what ‘Devolution Series #2 – Galactic Quarantine’.

The setlist is a mix of Strapping Young Lad songs, like ‘Detox’ and Devin Townsend Project tunes. These tracks build for the framework of ‘Devolution Series #2 – Galactic Quarantine’ while the other songs are taken from ‘Ziltoid the Omniscient’, ‘Dark Matters’, ‘Empath’ and ‘Physicist’.

The ‘Devolution Series’ is a good way to bridge the waiting time for a next Devin Townsend album. It looks like the Canadian guitar wizard is already working on new songs and until these will blossom, it’s albums like this one that provides music that represents one of the influential forces in metal at its best.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Velvet Kevorkian (Virtually Live 2020)
  2. All Hail The New Flesh (Virtually Live 2020))
  3. By Your Command (Virtually Live 2020)
  4. Almost Again (Virtually Live 2020)
  5. Juular (Virtually Live 2020)
  6. March Of The Poozers (Virtually Live 2020)
  7. Supercrush! (Virtually Live 2020)
  8. Hyperdrive (Virtually Live 2020)
  9. Stormbending (Virtually Live 2020)
  10. Deadhead (Virtually Live 2020)
  11. Aftermath (Virtually Live 2020)
  12. Love? (Virtually Live 2020)
  13. Spirits Will Collide (Virtually Live 2020)
  14. Kingdom (Virtually Live 2020)
  15. Detox (Virtually Live 2020)

Label: Inside Out Music

Genre: Progressive Metal

Release Date EU: June 25th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: