DVD review MOTÖRHEAD ‘Louder Than Noise … Live in Berlin’

To introduce Motörhead is like carrying sand to the beach. If you haven’t lived under rock for the last decades you couldn’t miss the band and their legendary frontman Lemmy Kilmister.

Although Lemmy passed away far to early a few years ago there is still material available that faces a release. In this case it is a concert the iconic trio played on December 5th, 2012 at the Berlin Velodrome. Motörhead played in front of 12.000 enthusiastic fans which was the biggest-ever gig in Germany and a highlight on the ‘Kings of the Road Tour’.

With four songs the ‘Overkill’ album was very present including highlights like ‘Stay Clean’ and ‘Metropolis’ being all-time faves. The show takes off with a song that was new at the time, ‘I Know How to Die’. Thankfully and even more important nowadays, the show was recorded and will be available on CD with a bonus DVD.

‘Louder Than Noise … Live in Berlin’ offers a 15 songs featuring concert that showcases one of the most influential bands when it comes to rock and metal. Songs like ‘Ace of Spades’ are timeless classics in any heavy metal jukebox, songs you just can’t get enough of. And we all need ‘Dr. Rock’ is this time, providing the rock’n’roll medicine we are all longing for these days. Audio and video provide the full Motörhead experience, as good as it can be transferred from a sweat-soaked venue into a living room. Last but not least, it’s the thunderous closer ‘Overkill’, being the grande finale where the guys from Anthrax came on stage to play together with Motörhead which added quite some extra firepower to this classic.

Equipped with a good sound with longtime producer Cameron Webb at the helm, ‘Louder Than Noise … Live in Berlin’ is a treat for Motörhead fans, emphasized by the multi-camera filming that captured almost every detail of this December night in Berlin. There might a bit of melancholy too when enjoying the show since we all know that such an event will never come back again in real life. The more important it is to prepare your Jack&Cola and cigarettes, press ‘start’ and dive into the powering work of a band that uses the introduction of “We are Motörhead and we play Rock’n’Roll”. Or how Lemmy mentioned at the beginning of ‘Overkill’: “Don’t forget us. We are f**king Motörhead and we play Rock’n’Roll.” We will never forget you, for sure.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. I Know How to Die – Live in Berlin 2012
  2. Damage Case – Live in Berlin 2012
  3. Stay Clean – Live in Berlin 2012
  4. Metropolis – Live in Berlin 2012
  5. Over the Top – Live in Berlin 2012
  6. Doctor Rock – Live in Berlin 2012
  7. String Theory – Live in Berlin 2012
  8. The Chase Is Better Than the Catch – Live in Berlin 2012
  9. Rock It – Live in Berlin 2012
  10. You Better Run – Live in Berlin 2012
  11. The One to Sing the Blues – Live in Berlin 2012
  12. Going to Brazil – Live in Berlin 2012
  13. Killed by Death – Live in Berlin 2012
  14. Ace of Spades – Live in Berlin 2012
  15. Overkill – Live in Berlin 2012

Label: Silver Lining Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: April 23rd, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: