CD review SWEET OBLIVION ‘Relentless’

Sweet Oblivion is a project that had its starting point in 2019, created and directed by Serafino Perugino, who is president and A&R director of Frontiers Music. One, if not the most important factor of this band is the fact of Geoff Tate being the singer of Sweet Oblivion.

Tate, who was part of the first iconic Queensryche albums during the ‘80s, still belongs to the singers in heavy metal that have a very unique voice. After having parted way with the Seattle-based prog metal powerhouse, the singer focused on several projects with the self-titled Sweet Oblivion debut being one of these endeavors.

There is no doubt that Sweet Oblivion is very much lasering in on Tate’s vocals. Supported by Aldo Lonobile (g), Luigi Andreone (b), Antonio Agate (keys) and Michele Sanna (d), it’s the voice of Tate that makes the difference. Being anchored in melodic metal, Sweet Oblivion deliver ten songs that unveil their musical thrill right away. In a way reminding of Queensryche and still being different, it’s songs like ‘Remember Me’ pleasing fans of well-crafted metal.

After a cinematic intro kicks off ‘Once Again One Sin’, the song evolves to a catchy metal tune that shows different layers. A song also to be mentioned is ‘Aria’. It’s one of the more progressive tunes on the album and takes a few spins of the album before the track unfolds its full potential. Last but not least, the album also offers a ballad. ‘I’ll Be the One’ is the title of this song that follows the standard principles a balladic song. It’s a calmer one that could have deserved a bit more heart and soul. It feels like such a song was needed on the album more than the ballad was a matter of heart.

Just the mentioning of Tate being the frontman draws attention to Sweet Oblivion and ‘Relentless’, but it’s more than just name dropping. Tate is in good voice, which wasn’t the case over all the last years, and makes this album to a treat for fans of melodic metal with a progressive touch. Although not grown organically and more created on the drawing board, Sweet Oblivion delivers songs that spread a certain fascination. Give it a listen.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Once Again One Sin
  2. Strong Pressure
  3. Let It Be
  4. Another Change
  5. Wake Up Call
  6. Remember Me
  7. Anybody Out There
  8. Aria
  9. I’ll Be the One
  10. Fly Angel Fly

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: April 9th, 2021


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: