CD review DEVIN TOWNSEND ‘Devolution Series #1 – Acoustically Inclined, Live in Leeds’

Devin Townsend has the fascinating quality of remaining true to himself while demonstrating the flexibility of an artistic chameleon.

Next to the creative output of Devin Townsend, the musicians comes also with tremendous willpower and it seems like even a pandemic can’t stop him in a way. Of course, live shows aren’t possible for Townsend too, but working on songs, releases and having done a streaming event presents an artist who’s always following his musical heart. It’s in his genes. Together with partners and label, Townsend will release a series of live albums, quarantine albums and other interesting material of which this record acts as the first deliverable.

Especially these days, music is one of the little distractions while sitting at home. While Townsend is working on new songs. this series will be a welcomed entertainment for fans of well-forged music of the musically gifted Canadian.

The series is entitled ‘Devotion Series’ and it starts with ‘Devolution Series #1 – Acoustically Inclined, Live in Leeds’. The release is a newly mastered and mixed version of a show, Townsend played in 2019 in Leeds, being a part of the ‘An Evening With Devin Townsend’ tour. The venue, the City Varieties Music Hall, with it’s great acoustic supported this acoustic concert that shows the entire talent of Townsend, as musicians and also as entertainer being always in close contact with the audience.  But next to the little anecdotes in-between songs it’s the stripped down version of Devin Townsend classics from all eras that makes this release to an interesting one for fans of great music with emotion and a bit of entertaining craziness (‘Love?’)

To sum up: ‘Devolution Series #1 – Acoustically Inclined, Live in Leeds’ is not entirely new since it was already part of the ‘Empath’ Ultimate Edition. However, ‘Devolution Series #1 – Acoustically Inclined, Live in Leeds’ is in this remastered version is a treat for your ears and statement for creativity and non-conformity.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Intro
  2. LetitRoll
  3. Funeral
  4. Deadhead
  5. Ih-Ah!
  6. Love?
  7. Hyperdrive
  8. Terminal
  9. Coast
  10. Solar Winds
  11. Thing Beyond Things

Label: Inside Out Music

Genre: Acoustic

Release Date EU: March 19th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: