CD review RONNIE ATKINS ‘One Shot’

Ronnie Atkins, that’s one of the most iconic frontmen in rock and metal. The Danish singer is renowned as a crucial part of Pretty Maids and also enriched the Nordic Union releases with his voice, not to forget his contribution to Avantasia’s great longplayers and live shows

The shock came when it was announced that Atkins was diagnosed with cancer. First treatments showed some good results but it was in April 2020, when the singer got the news of stage 4 cancer, being incurable. And all that on top of a pandemic on the rise.

Originally Atkins hasn’t had the intention to create a solo album but circumstances and an inner voice told him to change plans. Also as a distraction from all the bad news, the singer reached out to Chris Laney for starting work on songs, based on ideas, Atkins captured on his iPhone. The ideas were too good to never see the light of day and therefor the guys started to shape the creative output into songs. Together with a numerous amounts of musicians ‘One Shot’ was recorded, a longplayer that features eleven excellent melodic rock songs.

‘One Shot’ sounds like it was a relief for the singer to work on these songs. In order to not drown in the quicksand of negative thoughts, the record contains tunes like ‘Subjugated’ with a positive vibe that is stated so well in chorus “I don’t wanna be subjugated”. This is the kind of spirit each of the songs carries.

That the album has a positive vibe is recognizable right away. The excellently crafted melodies of ‘Real’, the opener, sets the scene very well. This songs is an great start into an album that doesn’t contain a weak spot. Melodic rock/metal fans will get all they could ask for, which also includes the soulful moments like ‘Miles Away’. ‘I Prophesize’ is another song you should have heard with hooks that do their job right away. No way to not get under a spell by the melodies.

Due to the mentioned circumstance ‘One Shot’ is a rather personal album from a lyrical perspective. It’s not the sex, drugs and rock’n’roll lyrics this time. It’s more an album that hopefully helped Atkins to process the situation and being a positive distraction at the same time.

Besides all the heavy load, ‘One Shot’ is an excellently crafted melodic hard rock album, where melodies, riffing and power finds the perfect blend. I think that everybody, and really mean everybody, will enjoy this longplayer. Maybe this is for different reasons but what Atkins and Laney unleash with ‘One Shot’ is one of the best releases in this category. There is the strong hope and wishes that ‘One Shot’ isn’t the last shot. Never give up.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Real
  2. Scorpio
  3. One Shot
  4. Subjugated
  5. Frequency Of Love
  6. Before The Rise Of An Empire
  7. Miles Away
  8. Picture Yourself
  9. I Prophesize
  10. One By One
  11. When Dreams Are Not Enough

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: March 12th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: