CD review ANGELUS APATRIDA ‘Angelus Apatrida’

Spain’s thrash metal champions league band Angelus Apatrida started in 2000 and still demonstrates perseverance to this day. Already the promising debut ‘Evil Unleashed’ created a buzz and with each of the following albums the fanbase increased.

Over the years Century Media became aware of the Spaniards and it was the 2010 album ‘Clockwork’ which was the first release for the label.

Several years later Angelus Apatrida is still active and a label consistency can be reported too. The self-titled new album will be released in early February via Century Media and is one of the best records the band has unleashed so far. Ten thrash metal hits are lined up here, none of them a downer.

Without giving the listener much time, the guys go straight into high gear with ‘Indoctrinate’. With songs in this style you enjoy to be indoctrinated with metal. Rapidly fast and with well placed breaks the four guys are pounding their way through the song.

What follows is by no means worse than the opener. Bleed the Crown’ is a raging thrasher and songs like ‘Childhood’s End’ are real neckbreakers. More classic metal a la Judas Priest/Accept is what the riff of ‘We Stand Alone’ evokes. Through the Glass’ may have a little too much Testament flavor, but it’s still a great metal song.

With some records it is easier to listen to them several times. Well, ‘Angelus Apatrida’ blocked my record player for quite a while. Too fascinating is the elemental force with which the four-piece blasts out one masterpiece after the other. When listening to this album you get the feeling that the Bay Area has been transferred to Spain. Without copying the idols, the guys manage to give thrash metal a real boost. Thrash metal fans should not miss this album.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Indoctrinate
  2. Bleed The Crown
  3. The Age Of Disinformation
  4. Rise Or Fall
  5. Childhood’s End
  6. Disposable Liberty
  7. We Stand Alone
  8. Through The Glass
  9. Empire Of Shame
  10. Into The Well

Label: Century Media

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: February 5th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: