CD review MSG (Michael Schenker Group) ‘Immortal’

Rock and Metal rebel Michael Schenker can look back on a long musical career which with his ninth album ‘Immortal’ reaches a new landmark.

As already on ‘Resurrection’ and ‘Revelation’ Schenker relies on the collaboration with friends and guests beginning with Michael Voss. Voss, himself known for e.g. Mad Max, co-produced ‘Immortal’ and can also be listened to as a singer on two songs. Besides Voss, Joe Lynn Turner, Ronnie Romero, Ralf Scheepers and many other well-known faces are part of the illustrious crew that will make ‘Immortal’ everlasting.

In total the new MSG album contains ten tracks with ‘In Search of the Peace of Mind’ as a little highlight. The tune has a long history and is the first song composed by Schenker. The guitar wizard wrote the song at the age of 15 and ‘In Search of the Peace of Mind’ ended up on the very first Scorpions album ‘Lonesome Crow’ in 1970. With an extension towards the end of the track and with various singers, the closing of ‘Immortal’ is certainly a grand finale that bridges 50 years in metal. But also prior to the finale ‘Immortal’ has a lot to offer.

‘Immortal’ starts off anything but lifeless. The previously launched as single released opener ‘Drilled to Kill’ marks a lively and metallic start into the new album. Metal veteran Ralf Scheepers delivers his significant vocal contribution and what also pleases is the guitar/keyboard battle between Schenker and Sherinian.

While the beginning was very much metal-oriented, the journey continues with ‘Don’t Die on Me Now’ pretty much rocking before Schenker & Co. clearly increase tempo with ‘Knight of the Dead’, a song reminding of the glory days of rock/metal. Ronnie Romero delivers once again a brilliant performance and it is still impressive to listen to the exceptional singer.

With ‘After the Rain’ a calmer song follows with Michael Voss on the microphone, which together with the three previous tracks shows the whole range of MSG in 2021. If you listen to ‘Sail the Darkness’ you might wonder if the early Rainbow is back again and also the final third of the tracklist catches your attention right away. MSG keep up the quality level and songs can easily compete with the first half of the batting order. Schenker continues to hit the guitar strings hard and ket his Flying V run free.

‘Immortal’ delivers quality and reflects 50 years of rock and metal in ten songs. Michael Schenker and MSG deliver a great album which brings good a mood into the current lockdown depression.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Drilled To Kill 
  2. Don´t Die On Me Now    
  3. Knight Of The Dead    
  4. After The Rain  
  5. Devil’s Daughter  
  6. Sail The Darkness   
  7. The Queen Of Thorns And Roses    
  8. Come On Over    
  9. Sangria Morte  
  10. In Search Of The Peace Of Mind 

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: January 29th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: