CD review FURIOUS TRAUMA ‘Decade at War’

New to me but not new to business, that is Furious Trauma from Denmark. The starting point for Furious Trauma was back in 1988 when the guys released two demo that paved the way for the ‘Primal Touch’ debut in 1992. After having released the third longplayer, ‘Roll the Dice’, the end was near and the band disbanded in 2003.

The quartet returned in 2017 with some new signs of life, very much driven by founding member Lars Schmidt who keeps on singing on the new album and also went from six strings to four, meaning from guitar to bass. Also on board is drummer Brian ‘Ghost’ Andersen, who provided a hard-hitting beat already for the debut album. These two guys, together with guitarists Daniel Steely and Rene Loua, recorded a smashing thrash metal album that’s very groove-based.

‘Decade at War’ is the title of record number four, forged by the Danish blacksmiths and it’s not lacking running time. 15 songs, including the intro, provides metalheads with more than one hour of energetic thrash metal with blistering riffs, rough vocals and a merciless approach. Songs like ‘The Cartoon’ represent trash metal that has its roots in the Bay Area. It’s not that Furious Trauma add a lot of ‘new’ to their music. It’s more the level of commitment that makes ‘Decade of War’ to a thundering record.

I mentioned ‘The Cartoon’ and I would like to also recommend ‘Comin’ Home’. The song is with eight minutes a rather long one on the album. Not high-speed pace is on focus. The track is a heavy one, for sure, with calmer moments too. This mix makes it certainly interesting, although two minutes less would have led to same good impression.

Also two old songs have been re-recorded. ‘Born of the Flag’, taken from the debut and ‘Chaos Within’ (from the 1996 EP ‘Strange Ways’) got a more powerful sound and still refect the edges of the earlier days.

To conclude: Furious Trauma brings well-crafted thrash metal to the table. Not that one should expect the mind-blowing new with this album, something that’s also not necessary all the time. The benefit of this longplayer is the vigorous sound and raw power that allows for nearly 65 minutes of headbanging.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Prelude To War
  2. Decade At War
  3. Heroes To Hail
  4. Plague Of The New World
  5. Ultimate Divine
  6. Hooligan
  7. Comin’ Home
  8. Damage Done
  9. The Cartoon
  10. Lex Talionis
  11. War Of The Gods
  12. We Are Furious
  13. We Salute You
  14. Born Of The Flag (Re-recorded)
  15. Chaos Within (Re-recorded)

Label: Massacre Records

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: November 27th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: