CD review ANACRUSIS ‘An evening With Anacrusis – Live at Delmar Hall 2019’

In late summer this year, prog thrash veterans Anacrusis released with ‘An Evening With Anacrusis – Live at Delmar Hall 2019’ a live album you shouldn’t miss.

Although having released only excellent metal to date, Anacrusis is still one of the most underrated bands. Already the debut ‘Suffering Hour’ is more than just a first album. It’s the well-crafted musical springboard for three more records, all pearls from the metallic underground. ‘Reason’, ‘Manic Impressions’ and ‘Screams and Whispers’ are longplayers every metalhead should know.

The 90’s unfortunately haven’t been the heyday years for metal. Grunge and nu metal took over and bands like Anacrusis called it a day. Anacrusis ended their first era in 1993 before some sign of life could be noticed in 2009. Another hiatus followed but the metal seismograph could recognise some new activities last year.

Metal Blade re-issued the four longplayers on vinyl and it was the show at Delmar Hall in St. Louis on December 7th, 2019 being another jaw-dropping moment for fans of sophisticated progressive metal. Fortunately the show was recorded and is now available as download on Anacrusis’ Bandcamp page. ‘An evening With Anacrusis – Live at Delmar Hall 2019’ features the best from Anacrusis, starting with songs from the debut and ‘Reason’. The setlist continues chronologically with songs from ‘Manic Impression’ and the best from ‘Screams and Whispers’. What more could you ask for?

Playing in St. Louis was a home-game for the band and therefore it’s not surprising that the guys, with the six original members on board, ignited a metal firework in front of an enthusiastic crowd. Remarkable also the fact that the album is self-released, which means that it couldn’t be more of an underground feeling. ‘An evening With Anacrusis – Live at Delmar Hall 2019’, an album you shouldn’t miss.


PART 1: w/Mike Owen 

  • Disemboweled  
  • Present Tense
  • Wrong
  • Afraid To Feel
  • R.O.T. Reign of Terror  
  • Silent Crime
  • Butcher’s Block
  • Stop Me
  • Twisted Cross
  • Terrified

PART 2: w/Chad E. Smith 

  • (Grey is) Still Black
  • What You Became
  • Explained Away
  • Something Real
  • Idle Hours
  • Far Too Long

PART 3: w/Paul Miles 

  • Brotherhood?
  • Release
  • Division
  • A Screaming Breath
  • Grateful
  • Tools of Separation ) 
  • Driven
  • Sound the Alarm

ENCORE: w/all 6 members 

  • Fighting Evil

Label: self-released

Genre: Progressive Thrash Metal

Release Date: August 28, 2020


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: