CD review JEFF SCOTT SOTO ‘Wide Awake (In My Dreamland)’

One of the big voices in Rock and Metal comes from Jeff Scott Soto. The singer from Brooklyn, New York had his break-through with Talisman, a Swedish hard rock band that premiered in 1990. The talented singer from the US left more than a mark on Talisman’s sound, a springboard for the frontman towards new adventures like W.E.T. and Trans-Siberian Orchestra and since 2017 Soto is part of Sons Of Apollo too.

Next to all these commitments, Jeff Scott Soto always finds time to put focus on solo albums of which ‘Wide Awake (In My Dreamland)’ marks the newest delivery. It’s Soto’s seventh solo shot and shows again the greatness of his voice. Together with Alessandro Del Vecchio, the singer hammers out eleven new tracks that show the beauty of melodic hard rock. It’s the nicely developed melodies being the driving force of this album and already while spinning the record for the first time makes the choruses stick to your mind.

‘Wide Awake (In My Dreamland)’ could have some more edges to spice things up a bit, but even without, the longplayer delights with feel that is embedded in each of the track. Balladic moments like ‘Without You’ are equally good as the rocking and lively songs (‘Love Will Find a Way’).

Next to the new songs the album also contains a second CD. Filled with Jeff Scott Soto live at the Frontiers Music Festival in 2019, the album is a rich package of hard rock and offers a lot of Jeff Scott Soto.

‘Wide Awake (In My Dreamland)’ became a good hard rock /AOR album. It musically shows a kind of standard approach with Jeff Scott Soto’s vocals being the ultimate highlight that lifts the album from ‘standard’ to ‘good’. Listening to Soto and his singing is always a delight.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


CD 1:

  1. Someone To Love
  2. Mystified
  3. Love’s Blind
  4. Without You
  5. Lesson Of Love
  6. Paper Wings
  7. Love Will Find A Way
  8. Between The Lines
  9. Living In A Dream
  10. Wide Awake (In My Dreamland)
  11. Desperate


  1. Drowning (live)
  2. 21St Century (live)
  3. Believe In Me (live)
  4. Look Inside Your Heart (live)
  5. Eyes Of Love (live)
  6. Band Intros (live)
  7. Soul Divine (live)
  8. Our Song (live)
  9. Holding On (live)
  10. I’ll Be Waiting (live)
  11. Stand Up feat. Dino Jelusick (live)

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: November 6th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: