CD review THE FLOWER KINGS ‘Islands’

The entertainment industry goes through a tough time and also artists are suffering heavily from the current pandemic. Sometimes you can also read these days that art/culture itself suffers and might disappear. Now, art and music is based on creativity and as long as the heartbeat of creativity is pulsating, art will be around us although it might find different outlets.

‘Islands‘, the new longplayer from The Flower Kings, is a product of current circumstances. In times of touring and live shows being a mission impossible, Roine Stolt, Hasse Fröberg, Jonas Reingold, Zach Kamins and Mirko De Maio decided that sitting still and do nothing isn‘t an option. Instead of passively waiting, the the guys wanted to follow their heart, making music for themselves and fans all around the world. Much earlier than originally planned, The Flower Kings unleash a massive album, packaged as double-CD and/or five LP‘s.

The Flower King members are living in the USA, Italy, Austria and Sweden and thanks to the worldwide web albums can be composed and recorded with distance being a hurdle. You can connect the ‘islands’. Here we touch the main theme of the album that deals with isolation and disconnection in days of a pandemic with the music, stringing all the pieces together. 21 songs fuse to a cinematic 92 minutes epos with songs like the swinging ‘Morning News’, the theatric ‘A New Spaces’ with its twists and the beautifully crafted ‘Looking For Answers’.

‘Islands’ is a sort of Gesamtkunstwerk with 21 songs that are complex and melodic, challenging and thrilling. It is a release that takes some time and attention, both probably more available these days than in the usual rat race we know from a time that feels antiquated although it’s just a few month behind.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


CD 1 :

  1. Racing With Blinders On
  2. From The Ground
  3. Black Swan
  4. Morning News
  5. Broken
  6. Goodbye Outrage
  7. Journeyman
  8. Tangerine
  9. Solaris
  10. Heart Of The Valley
  11. Man In A Two Peace Suit

CD 2 :

  1. All I Need Is Love
  2. A New Species
  3. Northern Lights
  4. Hidden Angles
  5. Serpentine
  6. Looking For Answers
  7. Telescope 4:41
  8. Fool’s Gold
  9. Between Hope & Fear
  10. Islands

Label: Inside Out Music

Genre: Progressive Rock

Release Date EU: October 30st, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: