CD review SIX FEET UNDER ‘Nightmares of the Decomposed’

Chief growler Chris Barnes is back with his Death Metal crusher Six Feet Under. ‘Nightmares of the Decomposed’ is already album number seventeen, penned by Barnes.

I don’t consider myself being the biggest Six Feet Under fan but what Barnes and bandmates deliver with their newest offer is thrilling. With many band members joining and leaving Six Feet Under, the biggest adjustment to the line-up nowadays was when former Cannibal Corpse comrade Jack Owen joined the band. Listening to ‘Nightmares of the Decomposed’ feels like Owen’s giving the band the boost and inspiration needed.

Six Feet Under don’t spoil time and hammer ‘Amputator’ right into your face. Right away Owen’s excellent guitar work jumps out, something the continues throughout. ‘Zodiac’ is next in the order, a song that was unleashed already prior to the album release as a single. The song needs some time to grow and my excitement, listening to song for the first time, wasn’t sky-high. Slowly the track gained impressiveness which each time listening to this slowly rolling Death Metal grinder.

Other songs worth to be mentioned are the deadly grooving ‘Blood of the Zombie’ and the musical headache-homage ‘Migraine’. And there is with ‘Drink Blood, Get High’ another skull-crushing Metal anthem, evil and sinister. And there is the brute wall of riffs in the beginning of ‘The Noose’ and, and, and….

Six Feet Under belongs for sure to the spearhead of Death Metal. Although the band had some ups and downs, Chris Barnes and band always surprised with solid returns of which ‘Nightmares of the Decomposed’ is the most recent one. This morbid groove monster is very much alive, ready to strike on stage as soon as live shows will be possible again.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Amputator
  2. Zodiac
  3. The Rotting
  4. Death Will Follow
  5. Migraine
  6. The Noose
  7. Blood Of The Zombie
  8. Self Imposed Death Sentence
  9. Dead Girls Don’t Scream
  10. Drink Blood Get High
  11. Labyrinth Of Insanity
  12. Without Your Life

Label: Metal Blade Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: October 2nd, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: