CD review MORTA SKULD ‘Suffer For Nothing’

‘Suffer For Nothing’ is Morta Skuld’s second album in their second era. The band that started in the early ’90s and added some releases to the books of which ‘Surface’ marked the ending of the first phase of brute Death Metal.

The veterans from Milwaukee re-started their Death Metal engine in 2012 and it took a while until their next longplayer, ‘Wounds Deeper Than Time’, got out of the box. With ‘Suffer For Nothing’ the band unleash a next Death Metal monolith.

In total 10 songs reflect oldschool Death Metal, being a trigger for 40 minutes of intense headbanging. ‘Suffer For Nothing’ doesn’t reinvent the wheel neither it’s the music that went through a lot of fine-tuning. This longplayer is a steamroller from start to finish.

After the album starts with ‘Extreme Tolerance’ in a brutal fashion, it’s the middle part of the track listing that is interesting too. ‘The Face I Hate’ is a vigorous Metal song, mostly with a higher pace and still a strong grooving vibe. What follows is an instrumental called ‘Forbidden’ that doesn’t lead to a big thrill but gives time for a deep breathe. ‘Godlike Shell’ ends the easing rather quickly, being one of the most aggressive of the album.

Morta Skuld delivers a record that is merciless and brutal. It’s not the finesse that counts, it’s the savage interpretation of oldschool Death Metal that scores the runs.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Extreme Tolerance
  2. Abyss of the Mind
  3. Dead Weight
  4. Divide the Soulless
  5. The Face I Hate
  6. Forbidden (Instrumental)
  7. Godlike Shell
  8. Suffer For Nothing
  9. Facing Mortality
  10. Machines of Hate

Label: Peaceville Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: September 25th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: