CD review 10 YEARS ‘Violent Allies’

10 Years is a band, I haven’t had on my musical radar yet and I can’t tell you why. The guys started twenty years ago and released eight albums to date. Getting out of the gates very quickly in the early days delivered some opportunities to tour with bigger acts like Korn and Deftones, a fact that gives you a bit of an idea of where we are heading to soundwise.

10 Years plays Modern Rock that sometimes crosses the line towards Metal and nearly two decades after having premiered with ‘Into the Half Moon’, their newest longplayer ended up in my mailbox. Not knowing in the beginning what to expect made me press the ‘Start’-button rather quickly.

‘Violent Allies’ carries twelve songs with ‘The Shift’ being the first one on the tracklist. It’s a sinister start into the album, addressing lyrically the divisiveness in social and political issues., a topic that is a kind of common theme of the album.

Musically, 10 Years keep things straight-forward. Twelve songs and 36 minutes speaks a clear language. With three and a half minutes ‘Waiting’ is already asking for quite some attention. Listening to the track is an entertaining way to spend some time and the tune is exemplary for the album too. ‘Violent Allies’ in its entirety certainly doesn’t cause earache but what’s missing is the final punch. The record is energetic, no doubt. What haunts you though is the thought of “having heard this kind of music many times before”, a little bit like ‘Déjà Vu’. The album got a solid sound base, melodies and hooks are doing what they are supposed to do and still there is this uniqueness missing, the secret ingredient.

10 Years’ new album could be interesting of fans of bands like Shinedown and Alter Bridge. ‘Violent Allies’ is solid and provides 37 minutes of music, that gives you a good here and now, but has too little to stick to mind and soul for a longer period.

Rating: 6 out of 10.


  1. The Shift
  2. The Unknown
  3. Waiting
  4. Déjà Vu
  5. Without You
  6. Cut the Cord
  7. Planetss III
  8. Sleep in Fire
  9. I Wish
  10. Start Again
  11. Planets IV
  12. Say Googbye

Label: Mascot Records

Genre: Alternative Rock

Release Date EU: September 18th, 2020


Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: