CD review THE PINEAPPLE THIEF ‘Versions of Truth’

The quote ‘versions of the truth’ goes back to Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa’s novel ‘The Leopard’ from 1958. Although the quote is 60 years old its relevance today is obvious. Truth today, is it something real or something perceived? Has it a meaning or is it intent? There might be different views on the same thing, but does that mean that there are various truths? Bruce Soord and The Pineapple Thief’s address this interesting topic and create with ‘Versions of the Truth’ a soundtrack for the post-truth world.

Musically, The Pineapple Thief has all the tools at hand to bring such a topic to live with different moods and atmospheres. There is the intense but also rather optimistic ‘Demons’, being nearly a counterpart to the oppressive ‘Break It All’. The calmer ‘Too Many Voices’ is a highlight too on the album where you can experience all the voice while diving deeper into this song.

And if you just wonder where to drop the needle first, I can recommend ‘Stop Making Sense’. Not only that the usage of a marimba adds an interesting sound feature to the album, the song is also a kind of emotional oasis on an album that’s wrapped in darkness. Lyrically the song is about having somebody that is true, ending with “Without you, this makes no sense to me”. Last but not least ‘The Game’ ends a thoughtful and dark album that at the same time always offers a glimpse of hope throughout.

‘Versions of the Truth’ is an album you need to listen to instead of reading about it. Relevancy from a storyline perspective as well as from a musically point of view is beyond discussion. Listening to this longplayer is making you reflect and think, as well as it has the ability to make you enjoying very well-crafted music done by people that have a passion for a good song and the ability at hand to realize the vision.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Versions of the Truth
  2. Break It All
  3. Demons
  4. Driving Like Maniacs
  5. Leave Me Be
  6. Too Many Voices
  7. Our Mire
  8. Out of Line
  9. Stop Making Sense
  10. The Game


Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: September 4th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: