CD review MAGGOT HEART ‘Mercy Machine’

Maggot Heart is the brainchild of Linnéa Olsson. Born in Stockholm, Sweden, she was influenced by 60’s Soul music, British Punk and Swedish Death Metal, which can still be found in her music today. The first band Olsson played in was Sonic Ritual with which she released two EPs together with former In Solitude member Henrik Palm.

Since a few years Olsson is living in Berlin while her solo project Maggot Heart is a new musical home. ‘Mercy Machine’ is already the second longplayer she penned for the band and it will be released in July. What is approaching us here is impressive. Of course ‘Mercy Machine’ reflects the musical roots of the musician, which leads to a very individual sound. Rock, Metal, Punk and Wave together form an explosive musical mixture that directly reveals its power with ‘Second Glass’, the opener. The complex song reminds in parts of Voivod, but also with a dark rock timbre. ‘Sex Breath’ on the other hand, with its anarchic spirit, is in contrast to the opener. A good portion of wildness makes the song a very cool Indie Rock anthem. These two tracks demonstrate the range we are dealing with on ‘Mercy Machine’.

‘Gutter Feeling’ demands a little more attention, as this song asks some time to develop its full potential and again it’s Voivod and the ‘Nothingface’ times that come to mind. With the title track it’s easier to enjoy the music right away. The straight rocker leaves an immediate sonic footprint and also the slower-paced ‘Senseless’ shows the musical variety that this album brings to life.

With all the different influences Olsson succeeds in presenting a homogeneous Rock album by creating her own distinctive style. ‘Mercy Machine’ contains music that comes right from the heart and has a strong emotional component. You get the impression that every note on this album reflects the feeling of the very moment and that’s what gives this album its dark charm and authenticity.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Second Glass
  2. Sex Breath
  3. Justine
  4. Roses
  5. Gutter Feeling
  6. Mercy Machine
  7. High Rise
  8. Lost Boys
  9. Senseless
  10. Modern Cruelty

Label: Rapid Eye Records

Genre: Alternative Rock /Indie Rock

Release Date EU: July 10th, 2020

AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: