CD review INTER ARMA ‘Garbers Days Revisited’

There has been a lot of bands that had a lasting effect on the five guys of Inter Arma, across all kinds of styles and genres. Although the band is anchored in Sludge Metal it’s icons like Tom Petty and Neil Young, being an inspiration for the quintet. With their newest album ‘Garbers Days Revisited’, Inter Arma puts an extra spotlight on these artists that had a bigger impact on their sound and music.

It’s a wide field of styles that are Inter Arma-rized on this record. The furthest-away artist, in relation to Inter Arma’s usual sound, is the incredible Prince. Inter Arma covered with ‘Purple Rain’ one of THE Prince classics. The band sticked closely to the original although their version has more edges, which is great. You actually can’t win, covering such a milestone hymn, but Inter Arma made the best out of it and it’s quite entertaining, listening to their version.

The same goes for Tome Petty’s ‘Runnin Down a Dream’ and ‘Southern Man’, partly. The latter is a Neil Young cover songs that explode along the way. ‘Hard Times’, penned by Cro-Mags, is an anarchic smasher, also on this album, while ‘Scarecrow’ is even mightier than what Ministry delivered. It’s a menacing version and an acoustic maelstrom.

That Inter Arma also loves the sound of the early Heavy Metal heydays is what they manifest with Venom’s ‘In League With Satan’. Also here, the guys find the sweet-spot between own identity and staying closer to the original.

One might say, why releasing an album with cover songs? Now, after having listened to this entertaining sonic trip through Rock and Metal, I can state that this release is real fun, especially because of the wide range of influences with a metallic shine reflected by these eight songs. Good stuff.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Scarecrow (Ministry)
  2. Southern Man (Neil Young)
  3. Hard Times (Cro-Mags)
  4. March Of The Pigs (Nine Inch Nails)
  5. The Girl Who Lives On Heaven Hill (Hüsker Dü)
  6. In League With Satan (Venom)
  7. Runnin Down A Dream (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers)
  8. Purple Rain (Prince)

Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Sludge / Post Metal

Release Date EU: July 10th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: