CD review HOUSE OF LORD ‘New World – New Eyes’

It feels like James Christian and House Of Lords have been around forever, especially when it comes to melodic rock with roots in the ’80s. In 1987, when Angel member Gregg Guiffria founded the band, it quickly became apparent that House Of Lords was a band with potential. The debut album and the following release ‘Sahara’ underlined this assumption. However, the end of House Of Lords came a few years later and radio silence prevailed until the band slowly resumed its activities in the beginning of the new millennium.

With ‘ New World – New Eyes’, the twelfth House Of Lords album will be released in June and those who expected a lot of new stuff will be disappointed. In return, House Of Lords fans will find everything they are looking for on the new record. Altogether eleven songs spread a good mood with a beautiful set of melodies and well set hooks, that unfold their fascination.

Although equipped with a good production the songs do not have a real ‘wow-effect’. Basically there is not much to criticize about ‘New World – New Eyes’, but the ultimate kick and the edges are missing. Each of the eleven songs is more of a soul pleaser than that they kicks ass.

Except in the title the term ‘new’ on ‘New World – New Eyes’ is not very present. House Of Lords stay on safe musical ground and doesn’t lean over too much into new areas. Fans will probably appreciate this.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Change (What’s It Gonna Take)
  2. New World New Eyes
  3. One More
  4. Perfectly (You And I)
  5. The Both Of Us
  6. Chemical Rush
  7. We’re All That We Got
  8. Better Off Broken
  9. $5 Buck Of Gasoline
  10. The Chase
  11. The Summit

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: June 12th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: